Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Take a deep breath… January 23, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 11:08 am

And let it go. It is just a sleeve, just a sleeve. Maybe that would be okay if it were just one sleeve but it is two sleeves. This freaking Na Craga is driving me nuts! I am knitting the two sleeves at the same time. I like this method. Do most people knit their sleeves at the same time? Is it a bad idea when knitting cable patterns to knit both sleeves at the same time? Or is it just a bad idea to watch Angel and knit two sleeves at the same time.

Annie at The Knitty Gritty is ripping her Na Craga too. I would like to just drown my sorrows in Double Stuff Oreos but our package has an error too–the cookie is backwards–just like my middle chart. WAH! I could just put it down and walk away from it for a while. But I have done that for the past couple of years. I just want to finish this sweater. Thankfully I have a Parent Training at Owen’s school today. And I will be stopping by my LYS on the way. I am going to purchase needles to do socks on two circular needles. I need a good distraction.

On a happier note, Owen has had a great week at school with little to no “behaviors.” By behaviors I mean acts of aggression, self-injurious behaviors, dropping to the floor. Thank goodness. We saw a major increase over the holidays. It is so scary and heartbreaking and we have to ignore the behaviors. Also, Owen’s language is improving. He is independently requesting more and more frequently. If he really wants something and he doesn’t know how to ask, he will imitate anything you say. But he can’t really seem to get the hang of stringing words togther. I have been working on “night night mommy” and he can’t do it. He can say either the “night night” or “mommy” but not both. It astounds me what I took for granted with my other two kids.

Speaking of the other two, Gracie, Cameron and I are going to Florida on February 6th for 4 nights. We will be staying at the new Pop Century Resort. We will also spend 2 nights with Grandma and Grandpa. They are so excited. It can be so hard on them, having a brother with special needs. So, it is nice to do something cool with them. I guess I will have to think about travel knitting. Maybe the new socks? 🙂 Have a great day everyone.

 

5 Responses to “Take a deep breath…”

  1. Dava Says:

    Oh, I always do both at the same time. I hate sleeves so much that if I did them one at a time I’d be asymmetrical. Walking away is a good thing. I heard on the news last night that if you sleep 6 hours (good luck with 3 kids) your brain processes problems and you can solve them easier the next day. So sleep on it. It looks great to me!

  2. annie Says:

    Think of it this way, when you knit your sleeves-again (grr)- you will be done! except for the seaming and sewing and finishing. But, oh so much closer than me… Don’t you want to join us in the Tuja-along?!?
    Good for Owen! And how much fun for you and the other two kids. DisneyWorld is my kids’ idea of what heaven must be. We’ve never been and it seems like ALL their friends have been many, many times. Oh well, some day!
    I won’t feel so bad ripping, knowing you’ll be doing the same thing. Misery loves company 🙂

  3. WOW Disney sounds like a great time….you must be lucky to have such a supportive, understanding, generous, and probably handsome as a devil husband! I bet he’s funny too 😉

    BTW – wasnt Na craga the new lucky charms marshmallow flavor?

  4. Linda Says:

    Fantastic work on NaCraga – definitely not mindless knitting!!! Don’t get frustrated – that is art – not craft : ) WooHoo on the Disney trip. What a wonderful and understanding parent you are to recognize that it is hard being a kid with a special needs sibling – they are blessed to go on this trip and have Mommy for some FUN time. When I was a teenager I babysat for a family that had severely premature triplets that were all special needs. One was in an institution, one was with the grandparents and the one that was at home was a blind, autistic child who was also mentally retarded. We got along really well, and I remember how thrilled his parents were when I got him to say water. I could stroke his thumb for hours and he would be happy. He was so sweet, but it was never easy. I am glad you are getting a break!

    Socks would be good – or a scarf or hat that did not take too much concentration.

  5. Rachael Says:

    Even though you had to visit the frog pond, it’ll be worth it. I LOVE the color you’re doing Na Craga in…. Can’t wait to watch it grow. (And I always do sleeves together, and I do them first, to get them out of the way…..I hate them that much.)


Comments are closed.