Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The sweater escapes me February 17, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:32 am

Dale

Well, since I added the Dale sweater to my new percentage bars (courtesty of Anna Knits), I figured I ought to show a picture of the work at hand. It seems said “work” is missing. Before I left for Florida, I tidied up my knitting in my bedroom and threw it all in the stash closet. Somehow this bit of knitting has gone missing.

I have to say, this sweater has been a challenge for me from the very beginning. I bought it from Bea Ellis with the intention of taking a class with her at the YMCA in Marshfield. Bea stopped her classes–I think and I moved back to NY.

1- Casting on approximately 300 stitches on toothpicks stinks.
2- Brand new Inox needles breaking while knitting 300 tiny stitches stinks.
3- Not finding the error till after you get past the error point stinks!

Do you see that little scrap of paper sticking out of the top of the pattern book? That’s the error. Argh. I don’t care for the Inox needles, they are very pointy and painful. I should invest in Addi’s. I really don’t have much progress to show anyway. What I do have is some snarly yarn balls from where I ripped it out. It is my second project for the Men-Along. I guess I need to find what I have knit so far. Fun.

Enough bitterness, Gracie is at my mother-in-laws. Owen is at school. That leaves me and Cameron. We are going to Jillian’s today–his choice. First to the tutors though. Tutoring kindergarteners… Remember when it was about socialization. Better run. Have a good day.

Surprise! Surprise!

Pig Pen
You are Pig Pen!

Which Peanuts Character are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

I found this quiz at Bethany Rambling. If you saw the picture of my stash closet–you aren’t surprised. My mom has a little sign hanging on her wall that says, “Creative minds are seldom tidy.” A motto or an excuse? Who cares!

 

3 Responses to “The sweater escapes me”

  1. annie Says:

    I just read your comment on Greta’s blog-made me teary. I am glad for you and for Owen. You are such a good mom!
    I like your percentage bars–can’t help noticing how far along on Na Craga you are. Wow! And that Dale sweater sounds like a nightmare-not very Zen!

  2. Dava Says:

    Okay Katy, I gotta ask: did you live in Marshfield? I grew in Scituate and worked a few summers in Humarock.

    Think there may be some unconscious work going on with that missing knitting? 🙂

  3. Kerstin Says:

    Oh man, that sweater does NOT look like fun. I agree, the Inox needles are too pointy and the joins are some are terrible. If you INSIST on doing that imposing-looking sweater, invest in some Addi’s, for goodness sake! I was wondering if I would find a PigPen around the knit ring. I’m Schroeder. Go figure. 🙂


Comments are closed.