Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

February 29, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 10:44 am

We have fabulous weather this weekend. What a relief! I am so tired of winter. Kevin took Cameron and Gracie to a basketball game at Madison Square Garden so it is just me and the O-man. I think we may go the playground at the beach. Owen loves it there and it has been a long time.

I haven’t been knitting much. That stinks. I am closing in on the first pattern of my Dale sweater–the next row. No progress photo of 1 3/4″ of navy blue. Great timing for me though–my mom and dad just got back from Florida today. My mom, as I have said before, is a fabulous knitter who helps me out of tough spots. I am still working on the Eros/hairy novelty scarf. I can see white cardboard on the Flutter. The end is in sight. Yippee!

Since I have no decent progress photos to post, I figured I would show you my first quilt. It is a Nine Patch from a class I took in the fall. I don’t really like quilting. I didn’t find it to be as forgiving as knitting. I think I was more stressed than relaxed. I made one other little lap quilt for Kevin’s grandmother for Christmas. But I don’t see a lot of quilting in my future. ‘Course I did build up a little stash of quilt fabric.

Quiltowen

I am sorry for this poorly written entry. I haven’t been sleeping well lately. I come from a long line of bad sleepers but it seems to be worse lately. Perhaps it is the change in daylight.

I guess I should mention the conference. It was very informative. The speaker, Dr. Bridget Taylor, was incredible. The content was a bit less hopeful than I expected though. Dr. Taylor, according to the book Let Me Hear Your Voice, was instrumental to the teaching and recovery of these two children from autism. I didn’t hear her mention recovery or indistinguishable once on Friday. I know it can happen. I have met children who have “recovered” and who are “indistinguishable.” But this woman, this miracle worker, I guess, in my mind, didn’t show one recovered child. She showed us kids who made progress but would wind up in a group home. She talked about augmentative communication and the importance of its use. Some kids she said, despite our best efforts, would not have language. If they are not speaking by age 7, she trains them on a device. That’s 3 years from now for Owen.

I guess whatever little bit of denial I had left was shattered on Friday. I will continue to do my best to help Owen. I will do my best for all of my children. After Friday, “best possible outcome” has a new meaning. I just have to reconcile that meaning between my brain and my heart.

 

6 Responses to “”

  1. annie Says:

    One person cannot speak for everyone. Please don’t give up hope. She probably doesn’t feel comfortable making a generalization–each child is different. Keep the faith 🙂

    The quilt is amazing. That is your first one? WOW! And I love the picture. Owen looks happy.

    Miracles do happen–and things are changing so rapidly. A lot could happen as far as research and therapy in three years.

  2. Kevin from NY Says:

    On our way back from game…we ate well – cotton candy, popcorn, ice cream..friars won big..lots of fun.

    I for one love the quilt, it has this kind of heavy bulky feeling that brings me much joy.

    We can’t give up hope on our goals for owen, its the surest way not to accomplish them. I love you.

  3. Kevin from NY Says:

    And to make you laugh….cam just saw the picture of you and Owen and gave my blackberry a hug.

    He is a little nutter!

  4. Kara Says:

    Hi Katy,
    I love the comments from your Kevin… And I agree. Don’t give up on your hopes and dreams for your darling boy. You are his best advocate.
    Love the quilt!
    Kara

  5. Linda Says:

    No great acheivement was ever an accident. People have dreams and goals and they are told that it CANNOT be done. But the human spirit persevered. Helen Keller got an education, the Wright brothers showed that man could fly, there are many great acheivements that should not have been possible. Set your expectations high, be grateful for all successes, no matter how small. Do not compare them against the original goal. Look at them as stepping stones on the path to get there! I think it is wrong to tell people not to have unreal expectations. That simply holds us back. Expect the unreal, be excited by the reality.

    Also – keep faith in two things. Medicine and Miracles. Medicine is advancing at an amazing pace. My brother has psoriatic arthritis. He turned 44 yesterday. Two months ago he started a new medication. He is feeling like a new person. We had assumed he would be in a wheelchair in the next 5 years. Now he is so active that he will outlive us all.

    Miracles can and do happen. But they cannot happen without faith in something. Even if it is just yourself or Owen. Keep the faith – do not doubt and keep us informed of your journey. A shared journey always seems shorter!

  6. Bethany Says:

    Just keep loving him no matter what, and it’ll all turn out fine. Keep hoping, keep pushing him to do his best, and never believe he can’t improve. Same stuff with any kid, it’s just harder in Owen’s case.

    So speaks someone with no children, just idealistic views.


Comments are closed.