Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Serious Sirius March 1, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 11:12 am

Serious_sirius

I am taking Sirius to the vet in a little while. He either escaped or was let out (possibly by Owen) yesterday. I found him in the basement, under the radiator. He was bleeding. I don’t know if he got hurt jumping off his table or if he had a run in with a mouse. The vet, over the phone, suspects a bacterial infection which can be treated with antibiotics. He’s not himself. Gracie and Cameron are quite worried. I hope he is okay.

I wanted to thank you all for your kind comments. I guess I sounded a little less hopeful than I actually am. Or maybe I was really unhopeful for a bit but am feeling better and stronger now. Annie at The Knitty Gritty and Linda at Knitpickity wrote about keeping faith–even if it just in me and Owen. One realization I made yesterday was that yes, Dr. Taylor is an expert in autism. But me, I am an expert in Owen. I feel a little more empowered today. I feel a little more like beating the stinking odds. And I feel grateful that I have my knitting to keep me sane and a remarkable group of knit bloggers to offer support and even redirection. Thank you.

Off to the vet. Keep your fingers crossed for Sirius Black.

Update on Sirius

Well, we are back from the vet. She thinks Sirius is okay and gave us some antibiotics for the next 5 days. There are no guarantees that he didn’t get hurt in his escape but he seemed healthy and in no pain. She couldn’t get over how sweet he was. He didn’t bite, he was extremely passive and overall very well-behaved. Sirius has never bitten anyone. He has peed on me and my sister-in-law but he is a really gentle, sweet little guy. I guess he is actually a big guy. 5.5oz. He even took the medicine like a champ. He seems tired now though, the car, the picking up by the scruff of the neck…I hope he is okay.

 

5 Responses to “Serious Sirius”

  1. Rachael Says:

    Your quilt looks fabulous! Thanks for showing it! And I’m so glad Sirius will be all right…. I love his name so much. (And have you talked to Greta (lifelong knitter) about her experiences with autism? If you haven’t, please hit her up….)
    xox

  2. annie Says:

    I am laughing that you called the hamster a “big guy” at 5.5 OZ! How cute. Glad he is better…and I’m happy that you are feeling more positive. Are there support groups in your area? Maybe through your pediatrician, for other parents whose children have just been diagnosed….
    Just a thought.

  3. Tina Says:

    What a cute hamster! and he has such a cute name. I am so glad he’s ok! And I hope he keeps getting better.

  4. Linda Says:

    I wish Sirius would have a talk with Jane the Gerbil about biting. She does not leave a mark, but she nibbles quite a bit (no pun intended). I am glad he is going to be fine and I am glad you found him!!!

  5. Laura S Says:

    Wow! I’m impressed with your quilt! I have a friend who quilts, and has been trying to get me going. I agree that knitting seems a lot more forgiving. I don’t think I’m going to be a quilter.

    Also impressed with your Kevin 🙂 What a great family.

    So glad to hear that Sirius is doing well. Even he seems like such a great little pet! (do you see the trend here??)

    I’m glad you’re feeling better, and I agree to not let one person get you down. She has to make generalizations, and no one knows Owen better than you.

    Hug your little ones, and I hope you continue to feel better.


Comments are closed.