Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Sleep is good April 27, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 10:12 am

That was a pretty depressing post yesterday. I am sorry. Sleep deprivation is truly tortuous. I went to bed very early last night, at about 7pm and slept. Owen was kind enough to sleep till about 6:15am. I am not sure. I heard him come downstairs and he was sitting on the couch in his pajamas with a Yankees hat on holding the television remote.

I dug up his Mission Falls sweater. It is almost finished except for one sleeve. But it is now too small. Do I rip it out? Or just knit from it as it is. I think the latter. I am inspired by Greta and Annie knitting into the mystery.

 

7 Responses to “Sleep is good”

  1. jody Says:

    don’t apologize! that’s what blogging is all about. i am glad you’re feeling better after a good night’s sleep. as for the sweater – trust your instincts!

  2. godsend Says:

    I second that one. Sleeping and venting is chicken soup for the soul.

  3. Uli Says:

    Sleep is just an amazing healer….. I hope things look up for you and your little guy. It’s a tough road, I’m sure, but from what I’m reading, I think you’re doing just an awesome job for Owen, and your other kids, too. Pat yourself on the shoulder!!!

  4. annie Says:

    Kathleen! I kept checking in yesterday and for some reason your post never showed up. That’s weird.
    Sleep deprivation is the worst. My son has had a hard time sleeping as well. The birds seem to be waking him up before it is even light outside. I have one of those noise makers (white noise) that seems to help a little. But I know that it is hard to make sense of anything when YOU are exhausted- emotionally and physically.
    Take care of yourself first, and the rest will just happen.

  5. Ingrid Says:

    If the sweater is too small in length, you could pick up a row of stitches on a needle or waste yarn and then cut below that, then knit down from there until it’s long enough.

    If it’s too small in the chest, that’s probably harder. You could make adjustments like additional side panels (but then you might have to change the sleeve caps) or fudging something in the front if it’s a cardigan, but those are tougher changes.

    Good luck, with both the sweater and your son.

  6. greta Says:

    I’m so glad you got some SLEEP! For awhile I was pretty sure I was the longest running sleep deprivation subject on record…my boy didn’t sleep through the night until he was SIXTEEN YEARS old. I can’t wait to meet you at MSWF…you are going, right? Can’t wait to give you a big HUG!

  7. Becky Says:

    Hey! There is NO need to apologize. We all need to let it out at times. It’s cathartic and can be good for the soul.


Comments are closed.