Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Luna and Fluffy May 4, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:45 am

gerbil
Welcome Luna Lovegood and her sister Fluffy. The little girls arrived yesterday in a soccer cleats box and are settling into their cage. We took the advice of Linda at Knitpickity and got two. They are definately more active than our beloved and greatly missed Sirius Black. But they cuddle and it is kind of sweet. I hope they warm up to us the way Sirius did. And I really hope they are truly sisters. I don’t think I can deal with gerbil babies!

I wound my Koigu yesterday. It is color 126. I am going to knit a Feather and Fan scarf. I don’t like the pattern I am using–too much garter. Anyone have a feather and fan pattern they love? Since it is the millends I am alternating balls of yarn. Are you supposed to do that anyway with Koigu? Does it pool?

I also worked on Na Craga. I am so close to finishing the saddles on the sleeves! Woohoo. Blocking next, the neck and it is finished. I think I will have a party. The Everyday Cardigan is not coming along as fast as I would like. I almost finished one sleeve but it appears to be shrinking everytime time I measure it. So I cast on for the back. I have to knit one more bucket for Cameron. My left hand and arm still haven’t recovered from the first two.

Today is Owen’s IEP meeting. It should be pretty easy. He has some pretty exciting things on his IEP for this year. My favorite is “Owen will respond to 12 social questions asked by his peers.” That means he is moving toward being integrated in preschool. I get teared up just thinking about it. I also like this one, “Owen will respond to directions in the absence of repeating the direction.” That will be a very good thing! “Owen will roller blade independently.” I love that his teacher really tailors his IEP to him. She truly makes it “individualized.” Have a great day.

 

7 Responses to “Luna and Fluffy”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Yes yes!!! Those are the types of things we always made sure were in Ben’s IEP. Funny when you really think about the everyday of your child it is easy to incorporate the info that really matters.

  2. annie Says:

    Love the gerbils! Very cute.
    Everytime you mention Na Craga I get a very guilty feeling. Must get back to mine….

  3. Linda Says:

    Hopefully one of the comments from the meeting today is that Owen has the greatest Mom in the world!!! You are so positive and focused – that makes such a difference in any child’s life, but more so when they have unusual challenges to face!

    Luna and Fluffy are PRECIOUS (same color as our Jane) and they look so fun and curious. I hope that you have a wonderful time with them!

    Look forward to the picture of the Koigu – I keep wavering back and forth – love the yarn, but am unsure about all the colors!

    Have a great afternoon!

  4. alison Says:

    Katy, I used Wendy’s free feather & fan pattern, but it is mostly garter stitch. There’s another free pattern online that is less so: the wave & shell shawl.

    http://www.knitlist.com/99gift/shell-and-wave-shawl.htm

  5. Kerstin Says:

    I hope your gerbils are sisters, too! Very cute. The kids must love them.

  6. Page Says:

    Colinette Ab Fab Throw

    Do you know where I can find the stitch pattern for the scalloped Colinette Throw. I have tons of Colinette yarn I want to use in a throw for my sister’s inlaws. Thanks! -Page

  7. Page Says:

    Colinette Ab Fab Throw

    Do you know where I can find the stitch pattern for the scalloped Colinette Throw. I have tons of Colinette yarn I want to use in a throw for my sister’s inlaws. Thanks! -Page


Comments are closed.