Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Yawn May 6, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:09 am

owieupallnite

Here is Owen modeling–or I should say–sleeping in his Sugar n Cream Bottoms Up Bucket hat. I finished it Friday night (before we left for Maryland). Kevin and I left in the wee hours of the morning so my mom gave it to him. He refused to wear it–such the charmer. When we got back on Sunday, I gave it to Owen right away and he wore it up until he climbed into bed (and threw it on the floor). Owen wore it to school the next day and it got rave reviews from the bus driver and matron to the teachers and staff. Way to go Bonne Marie! I mentioned earlier this week that we had Owen’s IEP meeting; it went well–better than expected, I think. His teacher confessed she stole the hat off Owen’s head and wore it herself. She assured me she gave Owen his Yankees hat instead.

I have one bucket left to make for Cameron. My arm has been killing me since knitting these two buckets. I *heart* Margene! She pointed me in the direction of this website. These exercises have helped tremendously. Michelle says holding the yarn in her left hand instead of throwing with her right helped her with the pain in her arm. I would love to learn this technique. And it is definately part of my Fair Isle knitting plans.

Gracie’s yarn arrived for her Katia top I am knitting for Kimberly’s Marilyn Along. I am blatantly copying Kerstin. They say imitiation is the greatest form of flattery. At least Gracie chose blue and turquoise.

 

15 Responses to “Yawn”

  1. Cyndy Says:

    Hello,
    May I ask, what yarn are you using for Gracie’s top and where did you get it? My LYS has Mississippi3 in baby pastels only. My daughter is thinking lime green and purple. I think, for me, bucket hat pain is related to the small needle length on 16″ circs.
    Thanks

  2. sue Says:

    bless him!he looks like a angel sleeping ;0)

  3. greta Says:

    awwwwwww. This reminds me SO much of my Boy at that age. I have lots of adorable sleeping pictures….cuz you KNOW how hard it is to catch them in the viewfinder when they are AWAKE! It is only recently that we *suspect* the Asperger’s diagnosis may be more appropriate for Daughter…and of course that brings up some very interesting family dynamics.
    At least life is never dull on this spectrum, THAT’s for sure!
    I am so so so SAD we did not meet at MSWF. I wanted to give you a HUG. Maybe on my next Long Island adventure….
    YAY for the positive IEP. I’ll continue to say extra prayers for you.

  4. Karen Says:

    The hat is great and your son is adorable. I agree with Cyndy on the arm pain being related to the length of the 16″ circulars.

  5. margene Says:

    That bucket is the cutest one on the blogs! And so is Owen.
    I actually knit both ways. Ribbing in left hand always and other knitting in right hand.
    Exercises are the best way to strengthen the muscles that hurt from over use and weakness. Plus 16″ circ’s ARE bad…yuk. Keep it up. Knit pain free!

  6. annie Says:

    He does look like an angel sleeping. So precious. And adorable bucket!

  7. Linda Says:

    That is a heartstoppingly adorable picture. It looks like he feel asleep saying his prayers. That is also the CUTEST bucket hat ever!!!

  8. Francesca Says:

    Owen looks great in his bucket. You get photo of the month award!

  9. Lynette Says:

    The bucket hat looks great on your son. Thanks for publishing the exercises also. I really needed it.

  10. Sarah C. Says:

    That is the sweetest picture! Your son is so incredibly cute…and the hat is perfect.

  11. godsend Says:

    So cute in that hat!! 🙂

    Isn’t it funny you’re learning left-handed knitting for fair isle! I’m learning right handed knitting for the same!!

  12. Chelsea Says:

    I have been cruising along on my Eyelet cardi after Continental knitting class–relatively speaking… But it gives me a bit more of a cramp since it is still a little awkward. I have heard lefties and righties complain about the force needed for those hats!

    And beautiful picture, BTW. Absolutely precious!

  13. alison Says:

    So cute! Looks like the same cotton tots yarn that I used for one of my boys’ hats. I love how yours pooled in different areas though. A really cool effect!

  14. Lydia Says:

    That has to be the cutest ‘Bucket’ ever – he looks so angelic. (All little cherubs do when they are sleeping!) *G*


Comments are closed.