Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Knitting guild meeting May 21, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 3:06 pm

I had my knitting guild meeting today. My LYS, Granny’s offers a discount to guild members on guild days–so I swung by before the meeting to beat the ladies to Granny’s sale bin. 😉 Guess who I ran into? Ann of Purling Swine. She joined the guild after the last meeting. (sucker) Just kidding Ann. I was able to show and tell all about Na Craga. Today’s guest speaker was a spinner from the Long Island Spinning Guild. Ann was thrilled as she just purchased a wheel at the Maryland Sheep and Wolf, I mean Wool festival. (That Cameron–he keeps calling it Sheep and Wolf). Ann and I were chatting a bit and we were getting shhed repeatedly by two, unfriendly quiet ladies. Next month is the guild luncheon, I hope they won’t mind us talking there. Regardless, it was good to see Ann and the spinning was interesting–just not intriguing enough to get me spinning. This guest spinner didn’t really knit with her homespun–just stored it in her attic. My stash closet is about to explode anyway.

Before the guild, I had a parent training at Owen’s school. It was great. We worked a bit on on Owen’s name. Since Cameron could speak, he has always called him “Owie”, a name that Owen liked and took on. We are now trying to teach him to say it properly. We are using a voiceover prompt of “n” as Owen tends to leave off the “n”. I was so bad at it. And Owen wasn’t even coming close to saying Owen a few of the times–it was more like “opie”. We did however ride the scooter boards. Owen’s teacher had said how much he enjoyed it and when she got ahead he would pick up his board and chase her. Well, he chased the two of us around the school today but he would plop his scooter right in front of me and cut me off. It was hysterical. Then he and I held on to each others scooters and made a train. Last, his teacher and I played Monkey in the middle, pushing him back and forth. It was so much fun. Even cuter, when I got to school Owen said, “I want car. I want jacket.” So smart. His teachers are so dedicated and just give so much. I really love them. And the O-man will be home any minute. Have a great weekend.

 

4 Responses to “Knitting guild meeting”

  1. annie Says:

    You do so much for your kids. What a wonderful mother you are. I’m glad to hear that your training went well.

    Enjoy your weekend too!

  2. godsend Says:

    Wow! That must’ve been nice though. I have some fiber that I want to learn to spin. I don’t know that I’ll do it forever. But I want to try it. I’m waiting for a workshop like that to come around…

    Sounds like you had fun with Owen! I’m playing Star Wars with Kyle as I type. Aren’t kids the cutest creatures?! What would we do without them?

  3. godsend Says:

    Wow! That must’ve been nice though. I have some fiber that I want to learn to spin. I don’t know that I’ll do it forever. But I want to try it. I’m waiting for a workshop like that to come around…

    Sounds like you had fun with Owen! I’m playing Star Wars with Kyle as I type. Aren’t kids the cutest creatures?! What would we do without them? 🙂

  4. greta Says:

    Oh the scooter days, now THAT brought back memories! Don’t you just loathe those ladies who shush you? When you are trying to TALK? *hee* So glad you got to meet Ann…of course this makes me even more determined to figure out a way to do a sneaky visit out to the Island and come to the guild and check out Grannys….keeping the O-man and ALL of you in my thoughts and prayers!


Comments are closed.