Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A chili day May 26, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:58 pm

The Leaf Cravat is finished and needs to be blocked (and remain unwrinkled till the end of June). It was a cold and miserable day today. A perfect day for knitting. What I would really like to do is organize my stash closet. I am just not sure where to begin. So I made chili. chili

Mmmm…it was just spicy enough…you know, the kind of spicy that makes your nose drip a little.

I worked on Cameron’s Trekking sock and I think I am ready to start the heel–except my tape measures keep disappearing–again. Kids. I also started my first Critter Knitters blanket using some sort of Lion Brand yarn. Kevin thought it was the same yarn I used to make the Magnum Scarf for Owen’s teacher. Not even close. Unraveling Owen’s sweater was in full swing today too. I still don’t know how to use the Niddy Noddy–I have googled it too. Will I figure it out? There is time, as I still have to order another Mission Falls color. I think I am leaning toward Sand or Pebble but I have also considered ordering more Chicory and just alternating skeins. I guess I have some more thinking to do.

Kevin just told me Fantasia won American Idol. Gracie had her fingers crossed for Diana. I had no real preference…I don’t really like the show.

 

12 Responses to “A chili day”

  1. ann Says:

    that looks yummy! I didn’t do any knitting yesterday (after thinking I would knit the whole day!). Maybe today will be my lucky day – it’s looking gray and wet out there!

  2. Rachael Says:

    Hey! You were just at my site! We’re crossing paths…. I wish I could help you with the niddy noddy, but they’re a mystery to me too……

  3. Michelle Says:

    Looks like my kind of chili- one can of each type of bean from the bean section at the grocery- I love it.

  4. margene Says:

    Yummm, chili would be perfect for out neck of the woods, too. It’s rainy and cold. That looks like you could eat it right off the screen!

  5. Chelsea Says:

    I found some niddy info by following the Yellow Blog Road, and in the interest of full disclosure and credit-where-its-due, here is how I got it.

    1. Jen (http://jenla.blogspot.com/) needed to know how to wash yarn,
    2. “W” of spaazilicious responded with a great tutorial which includes a picture of a niddy noddy in use(http://spaazlicious.blogspot.com/2004_05_01_spaazlicious_archive.html#108526945222459257) and includes a link on how to *make* one on
    3. As the Yarn Turns (http://www.doctordirt.com/blog/) and she has a great pic of a pvc version on the 05/08 entry… including a link to
    4. How to Use One! (http://www.worldknit.com/howto/howtospin/sfiberprep/niddy.html) Although she also recommends a book called “Hands on Spinning” by Lee Raven.

    I was intrigued by the picture on spaazilicious and had to find out about it. Had no idea you were looking for the info! Hope it helps. 🙂

  6. Vicki Says:

    Mmmmm. Chili is perfect for on a cold and miserable day! It looks de-lish. I was feeling the same as you last weekend about organizing and cleaning out my clothes closet — not knowing where to begin or how to approach it. Sometimes when I feel like that, I do something else (like make chili) and wait for some sort of inspiration. Other times, like last weekend, I just dove in to get it over with — I think I’m a bit more ruthless when I take that course of action. Your stash will be there when you’re ready!

  7. Ingrid Says:

    Worse than just the stash is needing to move! I need to pare down my book collection and start to think about packing it all up again. I’d rather be knitting…

  8. Uli Says:

    Yummy looking chili…………. I’m hungry and I only just had my lunch a little while ago. I’m making a pot of Spaghetti sauce tonight. It’s that kind of a day. Model shots up of Erika……. as per your request. :-))))

  9. greta Says:

    Thank you for the great post about shoe shopping…brought back *such* memories! I have no clue how to actually use a nidy noddy, but I think they are all in the dog toy basket at our house. sigh.
    Sandee is a poodle, but I swear she looks like the world’s smallest SHEEP!
    Took her to see the boy bird who said “Mommy’s puppy. CUTE!” and went right back to work. I’ll take that as a good sign.
    Pass the chili, it looks YUMMY!

  10. kevin from NY Says:

    i can confirm ther chili was one of katy’s finer efforts in the culinary dept…..mmm spicy and chunky and tasty, veggies just right (not too crunch, not too tender) – i am going for round 2 tonight.

    and for AI – well let’s just say that most TV stinks, it’s fun sometimes to watch people divebomb on the show when they think they can sing – and then have simon tell them exactly what i was thinking, and i was flipping between about 7 different channels and PIP the nba playoffs – so it wasnt like i was glued to the TV.

  11. Chris Says:

    Why sure your middle can come over, but just wonder? Is it your torso or your middle kid?? LOL! Of course not sure if the kid could cross that big of a “street”?

  12. Anita Says:

    Even though it’s in the 80’s here, your chili has my mouth a-waterin’! The folks in Snellville, GA (or “the locals” if you prefer) aren’t real happy about Diana’s loss, but hey, she’s 16.

    Personally, I don’t see what the fascination is at all. But I find South Park amusing.

    Bring on cravat pics!!!!


Comments are closed.