Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

a boring post July 15, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:36 am

Not a whole lot going on around here. I just finished another Critter Knitter’s blanket and am considering knitting a third before I mail them off. Cameron and I have been enjoying our time together while Gracie is enjoying herself in Maine. Owen is at school during the day so Cameron and I have been trying to have some fun. We are off to Chuck E Cheese with a friend this afternoon. This morning we are checking out a speech program called Fast Forword. Anyone have any experience with it?

I am awaiting some new yarn in the mail. I ordered Kersti and some Jamieson Soft. I am anxious for their arrival but really want to finish Cameron’s socks–at the very least–before I begin anything else. The Everyday Cardigan is so sadly neglected. Fortunately, I finally got my addi turbo 8. I think, at the end of the day, I just don’t love the color I ordered for that sweater. I am so drawn to green…and purple. Was it too much Barney when Gracie was a little? I love green, green loves me…we’re a happy family.

Kevin was just asked to speak at a conference in the Bahamas–the day before my birthday. I told him to go. I think it is a fantastic opportunity–for many reasons–but he is reluctant to go. We’ll see…I could easily make it up to myself…another trip to Paris, maybe? 🙂 Seems fair, right?

Gracie returns Saturday. I hope there is no post-Caitlin blues. Tomorrow I have a parent training with Owen and Cameron will be doing peer modeling with another student. Afterwards, we’ll have to plan something fun. The knitting guild meeting is tomorrow. I am not going. I guess I could have found someone to watch Cam but they changed the time to 11am and are making a felted flower pin. Um, no thanks. Ann, you going?

 

4 Responses to “a boring post”

  1. Collette Says:

    I used to work for Scientific Learning. Fast ForWord is a program that works on auditory processing. It uses principles of neuroscience to “retrain” the brain–creating new neural pathways and creating a “map” in the brain for all the phonemes (sounds). It sounds totally crazy in terms of the neuroscience but I had some nice gains made with autistic kids. Medium- to high-functioning autistic children were often quite entranced and able to follow the protocol (it’s a lot of minutes a day). Some of the gains I personally saw were increased focus and increased oral communication. ANYTHING that increases oral communication is a good thing. I believed in it enough to purchase 2 programs for my nephew. He was about 2.5 years below grade level at the beginning of the year he did the program, and, at the end of the year, he was about 3 months behind. His self-esteem really improved and he was more interested/interactive in class.
    So, I don’t work for the company anymore, but I almost sound like a commercial, don’t I? It’s a pretty expensive program but I felt it was worth it. Will it be provided via his school or via a Speech-Language pathologist?

    I know this is a long post, but feel free to email me if you have any questions.
    Good luck!

  2. ann Says:

    I’m not going to make it to the meeting — I have company arriving for a long weekend visit and will be dancing around my palace with the vacuum! ergh.

  3. Sarah C. Says:

    Don’t you love the days when you’re expecting a nice yarn order? It’s sad how much mail makes me happy…

    Ooh…the Bahamas. There’s no way you could go with your husband to the conference? Well, a belated birthday trip to gay Paree would be a very, very fine alternative. You could stock up on Phildar! 😉

  4. Joanne Says:

    The guild meets during the day, right?


Comments are closed.