Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Kersti is here July 16, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:13 am

kersti_for_me_002My Kersti arrived yesterday–at my mom’s house. I had ordered it before we left for Hilton Head and sent it to my mom rather than have it held up with the rest of our mail at the post office. My first color choice, 324, was no longer available in a single dye lot. So Ram Wools emailed me the option of mixed dye lots (no thanks) or other colorways with my specified number of skeins. Of course, checking up on all these colors on dial up was a real joy. I finally chose 513. By the time they got back to me, over the weekend–it was sold. ::sigh:: When I got back to NY, I called them, determined to get something and settled on 117. They were supposed to ship it to me but I guess things were a bit confusing at this point. Their price is fabulous, a bag of 10 is $85.50 and they have free shipping over $129.95. I am not trying to enable anyone, I swear.

I am excited to start a swatch with this yarn. It is so nice to touch. And I am excited to see how the colors combine. I guess it is a plum color–which falls in the purple category. Just like the Shetland yarn I purchased for my next aran. I am predictable if nothing else.

Cameron and I are off to Owen’s school shortly. I think Owen thought it was Saturday and didn’t want to go to school today. We are planning to go bowling next week with his home ABA teacher. And we have a trip to the Long Island Game Farm in the plans. It was really rough in the beginning of the week with Owen. He may have had an ear infection…yesterday was a great day. A friend from high school was visiting (she also went to college with Kevin–and introduced us). Owen typically avoids her–either going upstairs or down but he stuck around. Granted there was a pizza on the table but his eye contact was amazing!

I am going to well up with tears here…but we are approaching the two year mark for his ABA therapy. When we were "shopping around" for treatments the studies said after two years of ABA, 48% of the children were recovered or indistinguishable. That’s not going to be the case for Owen and it’s hard to admit. But admit it we must and move on and fight the odds. Beat the odds. One of his teachers said it best, three steps forward and two steps back but it’s still progress.

 

13 Responses to “My Kersti is here”

  1. Cindy Says:

    Yes Yes! always rememeber that some progress is better than none. Give him a hug…chin up.
    You are a BIG enabler listing the price and all ; )

  2. Cindy Says:

    Oh sorry forgot …Kathleen how can you live with dial-up!!? Your a saint!

  3. Rachael Says:

    thinking of you — must be very hard, but you’re so STRONG! And you have gorgeous Koigu to play with — have a great weekend.

  4. Margene Says:

    Mmmmm, lovely Kersti! Knit a swatch soon! Too bad you ahve to post pictures with dialup!

    You are a brave and super Mom! It will be hard but very rewarding as your boy grows. Go grrl!

  5. sue Says:

    thinks will work out.you have us all backing you over it and everything else that happens ;0)

  6. Annie Says:

    Beautiful Kersti. Thanks for the link.

    I’m sure Owen has made a lot of progress since he has been in ABA therapy. Progress is progress, no matter how slow. I know this must be incredibly difficult for you. I’m thinking of you.

  7. Uli Says:

    I think you’re an awesome Mom. It’s great to see you working so hard for Owen and progress, even if small, is progress. Hang in there!!!

    Love that Kersti.
    Uli

  8. greta Says:

    um, how to say this….after 20 YEARS, daughter bird still doesn’t *do* eye contact….wish we’d had the ABA when the kiddos were little! Owen has made fabulous progress, you even went on a FUN vacation to Hilton Head and he looks so great in all of the pictures…..those ear infections can set you back and think it isn’t *working*, but it IS.
    Enjoy the kersti…it is even more fabulous to knit with than it is to fondle 😉

  9. lillium Says:

    Unfortunately some of us don’t have any other option than dial-up! Ugh! Well, I guess we could invest in the satellite thing but I refuse to pay the horrible fees per month for it. My DSL day will come… Meanwhile – I’m thinking of you as my computer chugs away. Big hug to you on your thoughts about Owen. Thanks for the comments on my site about Jbird.

    Don’t enable the “enabler” -LOL!

  10. alison Says:

    Kathleen, I don’t have anything particular to say about Owen, but just wanted to pipe up and say hi. Oh, and the Kersti is gorgeous. My resistance is steadily being chipped away…

  11. Mary Beth Says:

    Beautiful Kersti. Hang in there – parenting is a long road! He’s a lucky kid to have you for a Mom!

  12. ann Says:

    he really is a lucky kid to have devoted parents like you & Kevin. And from reading your blog over these past months, it sounds like he has made progress – vacation, water park etc.

    ps. you are a typepad guru – how’d you get that photo to load on a slant?

  13. Laurie Says:

    One thing I’ve learned from my son is that eye-contact (or lack thereof) is based on one’s perception of the purpose/utility of eye contact. It’s not helpful for my son (because of his inability to read faces) so he seldom does it.

    One thing that helped was when I told him (he was older than Owen) that people equate eye-contact with honesty, and will think you’re not telling the truth if you don’t make eye contact. I think that helped some.

    Hang in there, girlie. You’re not alone.


Comments are closed.