Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Happy Birthday July 26, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 10:58 am

stbrigidYou say it’s your birthday….well, it’s my birthday too! Yup, 34 this weekend. I am almost halfway to 70. It was a pretty good birthday. I have been treating myself to birthday yarn. The Kersti was an early birthday present (thanks mom) and this was a more recent one. This is Jamieson Soft Shetland in Wilkinson. I had planned to use it for St. Brigid. Wilkinson is one of the original colors AS used in her Aran Knitting book. It’s just a lot brighter than I expected. The heathery bits are almost a chartreuse–not exactly what I had in mind. I wasn’t quite certain what color I wanted to knit it in. I was avoiding green, due to my overuse. Soft Shetland is becoming more difficult to obtain for the time being due to changes at the mill or something. I may have settled. I am not sure yet. Another year older but not necessarily another year wiser.

In other exciting birthday present news…Gracie gave me a necklace she bought in Maine. It is too small for me so she is wearing it. And she gave me a little stuffed pug ’cause no one is buying me a dog. Or supporting my cause in my house. Boohoo. Thanks Grace. Cameron gave me a stuffed dolphin he won playing the crane game and a Mighty Bean. In the spirit of returning birthday gifts, I gave him the dolphin and kept the bean. Kevin got me a Coach bag. It’s just not me, so it will be returned also. I will be keeping the yarn he got me though. What a cutie. He got me some Diamusee yarn at Seaport Yarn. Which is unbelievably close to his office. Lucky him. diamusee I am hoping to make a cuff to cuff sweater of some sort with this.

We got a babysitter on Saturday night and saw Bourne Supremacy. It wasn’t as good as I thought it would be and we had a flat tire. But the babysitter worked out well. She is a highschool senior and she wants to get her Bachelor’s in Special Education and work with preschoolers with autism. I told Kevin she should be paying us to let her watch Owen. Just kidding. Owen did surprisingly well with her. I am not saying he likes her or anything but he didn’t get upset and he didn’t avoid her. It’s all good. I also went out to breakfast with my best friend from highschool and her husband–she’s the one who introduced Kevin and I. Oh, and she brought pictures of her cat, Cal, sleeping in the felted kitty bedI made.cal_kittybed

Last, I will leave you with pictures of my birthday cakes. We had an Entemann’s cake on my birthday and my sister and I shared a cake yesterday (we are 2 years and 8 days apart). birthday_cake1birthday_cake2

 

21 Responses to “Happy Birthday”

  1. Margene Says:

    Happy Birthday!! (It’s my Dad’s b-day, too). LOVE the Wilkinson. It’s very pretty! Not worth fretting over…you’ll love it. Coach…cool, find something you love as it will wear forever. And just enjoy your week. Birthdays should last a long time…like a birthday week…or month!

  2. Anita Says:

    Happy Birthday! Sounds like you had a great day…even with the mishaps and mis-gifting. 34 is a good year–enjoy it! I’m fasting approaching that halfway mark to 70 myself!

  3. Uli Says:

    Happy birthday to you!!!! What lovely yarn gifts are yours to enjoy. Have fun!!!

  4. Melissa Says:

    Happy Birthday!

  5. Michelle Says:

    Happy Birthday! I really like the look of the Diamusee yarn.

  6. Vicki Says:

    Happy, happy birthday!

    You could try knitting just a bit — a small pattern repeat, perhaps — of St. Brigid with the Soft Shetland before you write it off for good. It might be interesting to see if you like it any better knitted up.

  7. greta Says:

    Happy Birthday sweetie! I’m sorry I didn’t know….my prayers were answered though, for you to find a sitter 😉
    Love the kersti heart…that is SO kewl!
    Many, many happy returns of the day. I think I remember 34…gosh it was a long time ago….it only gets better from here on out!

  8. Sarah C. Says:

    Happy, happy belated birthday to you!!! I’m glad you had a nice night out (well, except for that flat tire!). Great pictures, great yarn-y gifts…looks like you had a great day, I’d say!!!

  9. Karen Says:

    Happy Birthday!

  10. Donna Says:

    Happy Birthday to you
    Happy Birthday to you
    Happy Birthday dear Katyyyyyyyyyyyy
    Happy birthday to yoooouuuu!

  11. sue Says:

    happy happy birthday Katy.many birthday hugs to you ;o)

  12. ann Says:

    Happy Birthday!! you are a spring chicken!! hope we see you Thursday!

  13. Tina Says:

    Happy Birthday!!

  14. Collette Says:

    Happy Birthday! I’m glad you got out and about and had 2, count ’em, 2 cakes!

  15. Christine Says:

    Happy Birthday to You!! Have you seen the felted purse in the Fall issue of Interweave Knits??? Oooo laaa laa! also done in Jamieson’s DK. Finding that yarn is rather hard, but I am going to find it, all of it!! Check it out!!

  16. Annie Says:

    Happy Birthday, Kathleen! Sounds like quite a celebration. Must have felt good to leave the kids with the sitter. Do you have her lined up for this weekend as well?!? 😉

    Enjoy your week!

  17. Donna Says:

    Happy Birthday! And I think the Wilkinson will make a smashing St. Brigid – lovely!

  18. Linda Says:

    Happy Happy Happy slightly belated birthday to a cool busy crafty Mom gal!!!!!

    Half way to 70? I have heard rumors that we are just hitting our stride girlfriend!!!!!

  19. Rachael Says:

    Whooo hooot!
    Happy birthday to you, dear!
    Yayayay!

  20. jody Says:

    boy i’m behind in my blog reading! happy bday. and make sure you save some birthday spending moeny for next weekend. can’t wait 🙂

  21. Laurie Says:

    I love that Jamieson–but then I do love purple (and green).

    Happy birthday! Thirty-four? You’re just a pup!

    Lovely post. How lucky to find that babysitter. She sounds like a keeper.


Comments are closed.