Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

yarn shopping & friends August 9, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 11:57 am

Saturday was spent yarn shopping in the city with Jody, the PhillyKnitters and Eklectika. We hit 5 shops–Habu, School Products, KnitNY, Downtown Yarns and Purl. I didn’t purchase much yarn…a bit of fiber from Habu (I couldn’t come away empty handed), an Addi Turbo needle for Devan and a skein of Kid Silk for a scarf for Owen’s teacher. I had budgeted more. WAH. I had hoped to picked up the Cornelia Tuttle Hamilton book from Purl–to make Klaralund but the store price was $2 higher than the internet price. When I pointed it out to them they said I was wrong. Oh well, with all of the errors on the pattern and the cost of the yarn–perhaps it was for the best. My mom wanted more Koigu. So she got a skein from KnitNY and 4 skeins from Purl.

Jody was very nice. No suprise there. The PhillyKnitters were an eclectic group of interesting and cool women. I would love to have such a cool knitting group. Eklectica was as cool as you might imagine. It was a terrific day.

I worked a bit on Devan and the Kersti sleeve. I love Kersti. KnitNY and Purl had a lovely selection of Kersti. I fondled it but resisted. I am actually very content with my current and upcoming projects.

Cameron, Gracie and I went to the Vanderbilt Planetarium. The Dinosaur show was surpisingly disappointing. I think they used the same illustrations my 2nd grade teacher did. In this age of computer animation, I was just expecting a bit of a bigger thrill. Well, it was educational nonetheless. On a less educational note, we are hoping to go to Six Flags Great Adventure on Monday. It is hard to believe school is just a month away.

