Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

IKEA and ponchos September 15, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 6:20 am

Yesterday I met up with Ann from Purling Swine and her friend Peggy. Ann was in the market for the Oppala chair to knit the lovely Aran cover from IK. I warned her it was uncomfortable but for Ann, feeling is believing. I bought it last time I went to IKEA because the kids liked it. It is almost unbearably uncomfortable. I don’t know if I will knit the cover. It seems like a lot of work for an uncomfortable chair. Which may be difficult to keep clean–thanks to three kids. Anyway, it was good company and tasty swedish meatballs.

I started knitting Po from Berroco’s Kid’s Stuff #227. If you are making this or plan to make it–be sure to check out the pattern corrections. I was going a little mad trying to figure out what I was doing wrong. I brought it by my mom’s after IKEA for her to take a look. She didn’t get it either so we decided to check the website. Erratas are not very easy to find on the Berroco site. Interesting though…I assumed it must have been me and not the pattern. The yarn is an interesting texture. I am not sure how I feel about it. I am using the Lullaby in Down Dilly. Anyone know who is deciding on the names for these patterns and colors? Maybe I could hire them for blog titles.

While my confuser was not working, I didn’t get the chance to post a picture of the Cameron and Gracie’s first day of school. Kids_school
Unfortunately, no picture of Owen’s first day of school but it was a wee bit stressful. Unikat_poncho_9_14
And can you believe this is the best picture I could come up with for the finished Unikat poncho. This is going to be a gift for my sister-in-law. I have enough yarn to knit a second–for my sister–if she still likes it. And the fringe required an extra skein. At $25/skein I am splitting the Unikat between the two ponchos and mixing in some Brown Sheep Top of the Lamb.

 

7 Responses to “IKEA and ponchos”

  1. Rachael Says:

    Hooray for that FABULOUS poncho. She’ll love it!

  2. Chris Says:

    Love it! She will like it too, or you can send it to me. There is an explosion of Unikat ponchos here. I amy have to jump on the bandwagon.

  3. ann Says:

    I am glad you got to the bottom of the pattern confusion! Why is it that knitters always assumes the problem is with them and not the pattern – I do the same thing and it really pisses me off!! what did knitters ever do before the advent of the internet and errata searches??

  4. The poncho looks wonderful! I’m sure it will be highly appreciated and worn constantly!!! And why do us knitters always assume it’s us and not the pattern? Are we trained this way? Some sort of sunconscious suggestion put forth by designers. Oh no, THEY couldn’t be wrong, being the goddesses THEY are???

  5. Collette Says:

    Looks like maybe you took the picture of the poncho on Owen’s first day of school–no, really, this is a smile! That’s a great picture of the kids–they are, separately and as a group, very cute. Gracie looks like a 60’s go-go girl, so adorable. And she’s so TALL!

  6. Tina Says:

    Wow. That poncho is so pretty!

  7. Orli Says:

    That’s a really nice poncho, if a tad on the expensive side


Comments are closed.