Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Knitting along September 16, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:55 am

Faith_poncho_9_16_3Since I sorted out the corrections for the Berroco poncho, I have been knitting along on it. I hope it will be finished by early next week. More fringe cutting is in store for me. WAH! It looks a little brighter in the picture than it does in actuality–I think. This may be a case of denial. It wasn’t my first color choice but selections were limited and this gift is well overdue.

I think someone at Berroco is in size denial! You cast on the same number of stitches for all three sizes–ranging from 2 to 8–and just increase down the front and back. There is no way a child of 2 and a child of 8 have the same size head! How about those stitch markers though? Aren’t they lovely? Thanks again Chris.

In other exciting knitting news, the new Woolgathering arrived. The new EZ book, The Opinionated Knitter, Newsletters from 1958 to 1968, will be coming out in the Spring–hopefully. My mom will probably have two ancient sweaters photographed in the book. Way to go Mom. My mom has also been mentioned or thanked in some other books: BBR Knitting Ganseys, Mostly Mittens by Charlene Schurch and Beverly Royce’s Notes on Double Knitting. She also had an article in the very first issue of Knitters. Mom brag finished.

And in exciting news for me–I was a winner, along side Wendy, in Becky’s Bucketalong. Wendy and I both knit 2 hats for both the Spring and Summer bucket along. It is not often I can keep company with Wendy.

St. Brigid

Kim swatched in her terrific Briggs and Little. She hasn’t measured her gauge yet but I am anxious to know. Vicki had another "frickin’ misscrossed cable." But her sleeve is looking great. And me, well I just finished row 4 on the front. Whoopee. Next week all the kids will be back to school for the whole week–hopefully I will have some uninterrupted knitting time.

 

6 Responses to “Knitting along”

  1. ann Says:

    congrats on winning the Fluffa contest!!

  2. Congradulations on winning, you knitting goddess you!!!

  3. Chris Says:

    You’re very welcomed. They look good from my vantage point! I am seriously lagging along on St Brigid. Must find merino yarn!

  4. Vicki Says:

    Everybody loves a winner! Congratulations.

    I hope you get some good knitting time in next week!

  5. Kitty Says:

    What a coincidence – I’m knitting Po, too, only using a colorway in blues (can’t remember the name off hand). Fortunately my pattern had the corrections – although like you, I can not figure out what the pattern writer was thinking making the difference in size the length! Anyway, I’m about 1/3 of the way through on the fringe and it’s looking kind of cute 🙂

  6. Sarah C. Says:

    Yes, congrats on the Bucket-Along victory! Woo hoo!


Comments are closed.