Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

September 23, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 1:27 pm

This week is just flying. I can’t believe it is already Thursday. Kevin has been out of town since Tuesday and I just didn’t get as much knitting done as I hoped. sigh. Tomorrow is Owen’s surgery. While I know in my head it is minor–tubes and adenoids–there is always that nagging fear when your child or anyone goes under anesthesia. Kevin had to take him to get bloodwork down Tuesday, before he left for work. Yes, he woke Owen up and took him to the lab at 6:30am. And there was a line. Fortunately, they let him go ahead. Tonight I take him for the pre-surgery clearance. And tomorrow, at 10:30am he is having a new set of tubes put in and the adenoids removed. I am asking the doctor to look more closely at his tonsils and to examine his palate. The dentist thinks Owen’s palate is abnormal. I could do with that little peace of mind.

Owen, of course, cannot eat before his surgery. Now the child doesn’t speak much but he almost always says "bagel" when he wakes up. Poor thing. There are other worries too. He ripped the IV out of his arm after his last tube surgery. I am bringing our own juice. I know he won’t drink hosptial juice. I must remember to pack extra clothes as well.

I ran to Target and picked up a rather large train set to keep him entertained. I will just bring a few bits and pieces to the surgery center. And I got some Dora and Spongbob videos that can be played on Gameboy.

Anyway…I have been working on my sister’s Unikat poncho. I signed up for the KittyBed Knitalong. Cameron wants one for his stuffed dog. Why not knit two in my spare time? St. Brigid gets serious attention next week. I hope.

 

12 Responses to “”

  1. Melissa Says:

    Wishing Owen good luck!

  2. Christine Says:

    Good luck to you and your son. I hope things go smoothly and quickly for both of you!!!

  3. Vicki Says:

    Good luck to Owen (and to you)! I’ll be thinking about you tomorrow.

  4. Annie Says:

    I’m keeping you and Owen in my thoughts today and tomorrow. Best of luck!

  5. Nathania Says:

    Remember to bring some mindless knitting too. It will help give you something to focus on while you wait. I’ll be thinking good thoughts for both Owen and you.

  6. Susan Says:

    Good luck to Owen and I hope that the day goes well for both of you. My infant had surgery in June and my knitting really, really helped me stay calm. I was the zen parent in the surgery waiting room, peacefully knitting in the corner, thinking good thoughts. I’ll be thinking good ones for you and Owen tomorrow, too!

  7. ann Says:

    Best wishes for tomorrow Kathleen!

  8. Orli Says:

    Good Luck to the both of you. I sympethise, can’t be easy, but you do sound like a pro and that you have it all orgenised…everything will be fine. I can’t blame Owen for doing that to the IV, I had one after my c-section, they are some what pesky.
    As for a kitty bed…I do have a kitty but after what he did to me this morning…I’m to angry with him to make him anything…besided he has a LLBean Bed so he can’t complain.

  9. Joanne Says:

    Sending prayers for quick recovery for Owen, and extra stamina for you this weekend while he recovers! Post when you can and let us all know how Owen is doing.

  10. Eklectika Says:

    Thinkin’ good thoughts for the kiddo…

  11. Carolina Says:

    Sending the good vibes your way! Good luck lil’ one.

  12. Margene Says:

    Hope all went well and you are now home and getting rest…all of you. He should heal quickly. Good wishes to you to have a quiet weekend.


Comments are closed.