Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

September 23, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 1:27 pm

This week is just flying. I can’t believe it is already Thursday. Kevin has been out of town since Tuesday and I just didn’t get as much knitting done as I hoped. sigh. Tomorrow is Owen’s surgery. While I know in my head it is minor–tubes and adenoids–there is always that nagging fear when your child or anyone goes under anesthesia. Kevin had to take him to get bloodwork down Tuesday, before he left for work. Yes, he woke Owen up and took him to the lab at 6:30am. And there was a line. Fortunately, they let him go ahead. Tonight I take him for the pre-surgery clearance. And tomorrow, at 10:30am he is having a new set of tubes put in and the adenoids removed. I am asking the doctor to look more closely at his tonsils and to examine his palate. The dentist thinks Owen’s palate is abnormal. I could do with that little peace of mind.

Owen, of course, cannot eat before his surgery. Now the child doesn’t speak much but he almost always says "bagel" when he wakes up. Poor thing. There are other worries too. He ripped the IV out of his arm after his last tube surgery. I am bringing our own juice. I know he won’t drink hosptial juice. I must remember to pack extra clothes as well.

I ran to Target and picked up a rather large train set to keep him entertained. I will just bring a few bits and pieces to the surgery center. And I got some Dora and Spongbob videos that can be played on Gameboy.

Anyway…I have been working on my sister’s Unikat poncho. I signed up for the KittyBed Knitalong. Cameron wants one for his stuffed dog. Why not knit two in my spare time? St. Brigid gets serious attention next week. I hope.

