Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

katyknits contest October 4, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:48 am

What_am_i

So here is the contraption my mom bought off eBay. Click to make it bigger. Anyone have any clue what it is? She bought it from someone in Australia and has Googled it to no end. It says it is a Korbond "4 in 1" Knitting Aid. Venture a guess through comments or email and you are entered to win a skein of Gems Merino Opal yarn from me and a skein of Koigu from my mother’s overflowing collection. My mom says I should mention the numbers on those wheels. Owen will, I hope, draw a name out of his train hat over the weekend. So comment on this post or email me by Friday.

 

17 Responses to “katyknits contest”

  1. melanie Says:

    I think it’s a combination stitch gauge/row counter/seismograph. Let’s see how close I get…
    melanie
    south huntington

  2. Julia Says:

    It’s a stitch and needle gauge. The rhomboid-esque slot is for you to stick a knitting needle in and slide it down to see what the gauge is (and the needle gauge appears to be British rather than American or mm, so the higher numbers mean finer needles.) I collect antique knitting gauges and I’ve never seen one like this before. I’m not really sure what the little wheels are for – are there holes? Because if so, possibly they are for knitting “pins” – the really fine needles (double points) they used for lace and socks. Older gauges distinguish between needles and pins, and they were sized differently. If there aren’t holes, I’m not sure what the wheelie things are for.

  3. Julia Says:

    Oops, me again. The wheelie things, if they turn, might be row counters. Just a thought.

  4. Sheila Says:

    The long ruler-like part is handy for slapping your husband’s hand out of the way when you are trying to knit.

    The needle-gauge part is really for trapping the cat’s claw so that is cannot shred your yarn.

    The rowcounter is actually designed to count the number of times you’ve had to get up to use the bathroom. By drinking the same amount of water throughout the day, you can gauge your progress by how many times you must “go”.

    The pattern repeat counter is handy for recording the number of times you have had to ask hubby to stop snoring as he “watches” tv.

    How’d I do? 🙂

  5. Sonja Says:

    Ruler + row counter + row counter for pattern repeat + needle gauge = 4 handy tools in 1. Also can be used to entertain your child while you knit another row.

  6. Eklectika Says:

    Besides being a ruler, I’m pretty sure the window thingie is to see what size needle you’ve got (Korbond is an Australian company and I think their numbers go the opposite of the US #s) and the wheels are row counters, using the black for the initial #s and the red for the 10+ rows…

    …also a good chew toy for the family pet… 😉

  7. Anne Says:

    I know what a knitting aid is — to help the motor-impaired — but I’m going to guess this is to help figure out your gauge by the diameter of the yarn.

  8. Uli Says:

    Looks like a gauge measuring helper, needle sizer, stitch/inch of yarn estimator/calculator/ruler.

  9. Donna Says:

    It is exactly those things.
    Korbond is an Australian haberdashery company, one that I’m not sure is in existence anymore.
    The ruler is to measure gauge, the funny long hole at the bottom is a needle sizer – and yes, Australian sizes correspond to UK sizing. Well, they used to, but now they are metric. For example, our US6 is now a 4mm, but used to be an 8. Makes patterns confusing!
    The circles on the end are row counters. You use the first one to count up by 10’s. For example, when you’ve done 11 rows, you turn the first circle to 1 and the second circle to 1 too.
    I also wonder if the centre bit is a magnifier. Quite often, here at least, there is a centre window which magnifies so that you can read your pattern. (Tired eyes you know 😉 Mind you, they usually do it badly!

  10. Melissa Says:

    well, I had figured out the gauge tool, and the needle sizer, but had missed the row counters. What a cool tool!

  11. yvette Says:

    I was guessing ruler, row counters,needle gauge, stitch gauge,but I think I like Sheilas guess better!!

  12. Orli Says:

    Well, since it’s 4 in 1:
    1- Gauge measure.
    2- Needle size measure.
    3- Stitch counter.
    4- Row counter.
    Cheers,

  13. chris Says:

    I can’t even tell you what the shape of it brought to mind. But I think it is a gauge/row/needle size/measure Pinocchio’s lying nose device.

    I had 6 inches cut off, never thought to ask how long it would need to be to go to LoL. Maybe if I decide to go long again I will hold out.

  14. chelsea Says:

    I looked around and saw Korbond listed under machine knitting resources…I like the ideas presented, but why is the ruler backwards? I think it measures needle size/stitch and row gauge, and counts rows.. but is it maybe meant to be used with a knitting machine?

  15. Laurie Says:

    Reminds me of my nostepinde–an “ancient, multi-tasking tool” (snicker).

    Glad to hear good things going on with Owen. A few days of that can really lift your spirits.

    At parent-teacher conferences at my school, two parents came up to sitting behind my teacher table and said, “our daughter loves your son.” They meant William. I said, “well, yeah, he helps her with her math.” They said–wait for it–“NO, she LOVES him.”

    You could have knocked me over with a feather. My William? Geeky, skinny, socially inept, autistic William? A chick magnet? Wonders never cease.

  16. Kim Says:

    I think it’s a ruler (that one was easy), a needle gauge (the elongated tear-shaped hole), a row counter and the other ring a pattern repeat counter. Why don’t they make great combination tools like that now?

  17. Kim Says:

    I think it’s a ruler (that one was easy), a needle gauge (the elongated tear-shaped hole), a row counter and the other ring a pattern repeat counter. Why don’t they make great combination tools like that now?


Comments are closed.