Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Judge not, lest ye be judged October 8, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:45 am

I wonder what kind of righteous Google hits I might get with a title like that? Judging was fun. It was difficult too in that people put a lot of hard work into their knitting and crocheting and it’s hard to choose one over another or 1st, 2nd, 3rd and Honorable Mention. There were a few goregous Aran sweaters I would like to have brought home. And there was a really fab "Mile a Minute" afghan with football shapes. Then there were some really ‘not-so-nice’ items that were dirty and pilled. Overall, I would say the entries were pretty impressive. There were, however, alot of aghans but with 12 categories for afghans that is no surprise. I should have brought my camera–blog fodder and all but I wasn’t sure what the protocol was. Maybe next year? If you are in the area though, you should check out the Long Island Fair. It is sweet and wholesome. I saw these young teenage boys, as we were leaving, walking in with their entries–pound cakes. The flowers–the Dahlias–with humongous blooms. And the $5 first prize isn’t bad either.

I am nearing completion on the Vegan Fox. I really need to get started on this poncho for the Nurse’s daughter but my parents are leaving for Florida next week and I want to knit this for Isabella before she goes. Isabella had a very bad cut from the groomer. Don’t get my mother started! They hacked the poor girl’s hair off. It is hard to know what this groomer was thinking–winter is coming and they shaved the dog. So, she needs her Noro jacket very soon. I am using stash yarn. Yippee! I bought it off eBay a few years ago.

Isabella_jacket_iro

In other news, I wanted to share about Owen. He is having tremendous success at school with his new teacher and team of assistants. I feel a resurgence in hope for Owen’s future–both near and far. He is flying through programs that have been stalled in his book. His rate of acquisition is at least equal to, if not exceeding, what it was 18 months ago. He really likes his bus driver–or at least how his bus driver looks–he wears a cap and has glasses similar to my Dad. Owen adores my dad. I think this sets the tone for the whole entire day. A couple of Owen’s old teacher’s have worked with him this week and have been amazed by the difference. He is coming home–days in a row–with no behaviors! No tantrums, no self-injury, no aggression. It is phenomenal. I am so proud of him and just so elated.

Last, today is the final day for entries to Katyknits contest. Comment on my October 4th entry or email me. Off to work. Still makes me laugh–even if it is feel more like work these days.

 

12 Responses to “Judge not, lest ye be judged”

  1. lillium Says:

    I miss those types of fairs! I love walking through all the exhibits. And State Fair is one of my all time favorite movies. My parent and I went every year to the Erie County Fair. I can still remember tables and tables of home-baked goodies and hand-made items. Teens with pound cakes – how intriguing. I can’t tell you how happy I am for you that Owen is doing so well. Way to go Owen!
    Blessings to you all.

  2. Give Owen a big hug from all of us bloggers!

    And that has to be the cutest dog poncho/blanket I have ever seen…makes me want to go out and adopt a little dog just so I can dress him in that (I have a big, black Lab who wouldn’t like me dressing her, but would put up with it for a short while in lieu of a cookie!)

    Have a great week-end Katy!

  3. margene Says:

    How wonderful for Owen (and you)! He must have a great teacher to be making such progress.

  4. Nathania Says:

    Oh, that is such good news! Kudos to Owen. Sounds like you have found an ideal situation for your boy. You and Kevin must be so pleased!

  5. Orli Says:

    I’m getting that pattern book. In fact it’s on the way…I didn’t think I could use silk garden for a dog…figured it would be itchy…
    You see I have a friend that I was give her and her dog a xmas gift. I’m working of a scarf for her…wouldn’t it be cute if I made this fromt he same yarn I’m making the scarf! =) which happens to be silk garder #87.
    I’m so happy to hear your good news about Owen that is excellent… about a week ago I watched a program about autism on TV…and what I was able to gather, is that you have many shades of autism and certainly room for optimism about the future…also that the future is still untold. You are doing such a good job, I think you shouldn’t have to worry.

  6. Vicki Says:

    Aw, poor Isabella — beautiful yarn, she’ll be a knock-out.

    WooHooHoo for Owen. I’m so glad that things are going well for him (and all of you!). You have every right to be a proud mama!

  7. Annie Says:

    Yea for Owen! So glad to hear things are going well for him and for you.

  8. Tina Says:

    I’m happy things are going well for you and your family. That dog coat? is going to be so adorable!

  9. chrisknits Says:

    Great to hear Owen is doing better. Best wishes for his continued success. Poor doggie, I can’t imagine what happened there. Cold weather, shaved dog, doesn’t equate.

  10. Cindy Says:

    Ahh.. so great to hear about Owen. I really think as he gets older things will get better and better. I am not so sure my son Ben even needs Learning Support this year.

  11. jody Says:

    oh i’m so thrilled to hear about owen! i know how concerned you were about him changing teachers this year. it sounds like it’s working out beautifully 🙂

  12. Sarah C. Says:

    Gorgeous Noro! I still need to try some of that yarn! And I’m so glad to hear about Owen! That’s truly awesome news.


Comments are closed.