Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Devan is finished October 19, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 11:47 am

Devan_front
Thank goodness. Kevin brought it off to work this morning for little Vincenzo. I hope his parents like it and I hope it fits sometime soon. In all of my excitement to knit Devan–cause I wanted to knit Devan I forgot Vinnie was a preemie. No doubt, it will be big. Oh well…it’s the thought that counts. I used the DGB Confetti, size 1-2. There was a minor error in the pattern. On the back you are told to BO and on the finishing you are told to knit off the stitch holder. The numbers correspond so it is easily figured out but I think they should change it. I emailed the designer. She was very nice.

As easy as this sweater was to knit, it was a lot of work. I will never ever knit a sweater on size 2 or 3 needles for someone not related directly by blood. Hand me your worsted, your bulky or your super chunky. And here’s the back.Devan_back

I am beginning the poncho for Faith, the nurses daughter at Owen’s school. Although, I squeezed a little St. Brigid knitting in this morning. And I am finally winding my Mission Falls for the O-man’s sweater. In other exciting fiber news, I received my Summer Bucket prize from Becky. It is some very lovely ribbon yarn. I think they will become drop stitch scarves. I have a lovely blue silk/mohair in the stash for the icey blue one. Thanks Becky.Bucket_prize_from_becky

St. Brigid

Kim finished her second sleeve and is making coordinating wrist warmers. Stay warm Kim! Vicki is nearly finished her second sleeve but is dealing with some Cromarty envy. Aren’t we all? Kristi is still blowing me away with the speed that she is knitting her sweater and spinning and respinning the yarn. Incredible.

 

9 Responses to “Devan is finished”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Devan is adorable — Vincenzo will fit into it eventually and it’s nice to have things to grow into! That Cromarty envy is powerful stuff, but I do so have a desire to cast on for the body of St. Brigid, too! I don’t know what I’ll do…

  2. Mary Beth Says:

    Lucky Vincenzo! It really is such a sweet sweater – hope the recipients appreciate all your hard work.

  3. Laurie Says:

    You are a saint to make such a lovely sweater for the little guy. For the stitches knit you could have made yourself a sweater in worsted!

  4. Uli Says:

    Devan looks really great but I know what you mean. I made that for Erika earlier this year and it was a ton of work.

  5. Love Devan…and the best thing is that it’s too big for baby, so when baby grows out of all the newborn stuff that was gifted, and no longer has new clothes to wear, guess what baby gets to wear! Whenever I gift for baby, I always buy too big because babies receive so many newborn clothes, and nothing for after that stage. So, say you planned it that way, in your infinite wisdom and planning! P.S. It was very generous of you to knit such a gorgeous sweater with little, tiny needles and lots of work!

  6. Orli Says:

    WOW, Devan is gorgeous. What beautiful craftmenship.

    >I will never ever knit a sweater on size 2 or 3 >needles for someone not related directly by blood.

    LOL! =) this is very funny, to me at least…but belive me, I understand and agree.

  7. Alysia Says:

    Wow – that is really pretty. I have *still* yet to knit anything – including socks – with sock yarn, LOL!

  8. Kerstin Says:

    I love that pattern. What a wonderful job you did on it, too.

  9. Sarah C. Says:

    What a great little sweater, marvelous as usual! I’m glad you and Gracie had a good bonding experience at Rhinebeck…I really enjoyed those pictures…just as good as going in person!


Comments are closed.