Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

An FO? Or a PFO? October 25, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 11:36 am

Faith_ponchoWhat do you think? Is it finished? This is the poncho for the nurse’s daughter at Owen’s school. Interestingly enough, last weekend she and her daughter showed up at the yarn shop with Grandma. Grandma was knitting the same pattern I was planning and using Encore Worsted. The poncho was meant to be a surprise but I decided to ask what color she preferred–’cause she wasn’t looking at pink. Her daughter definately had color preferences and liked this Encore Colorspun. I used a Knitting Pure and Simple pattern and US 8 Addi Turbos.

The pattern says you can leave it as is–with a v-neck roll or pick up and knit around and purl off for a more finished neck? What do you think? Is it finished? Or should I do the neck?

I wanted to say thank you for all of the supportive comments regarding my conversations with Gracie. While I wouldn’t wish this kind of pain on anyone…it helps to know we are not alone. Thanks.

Finally, have you seen the Knitty Surpise? My mom called me about it this morning. Love ’em all! Thanks for bringing more attention to this issue Knitty.

 

16 Responses to “An FO? Or a PFO?”

  1. I say FINITO! The poncho looks wonderful! You did a wonderful job.

  2. Cindy Says:

    Great job on the poncho!
    Yea know, we all think you are a great mom and your kids are turning out so great you inspire us! It is easy to give you support and a pat on the back : )

  3. Margene Says:

    Very, very nice! What a nice gift!

  4. Tish Says:

    Looks great as is! I really like the roll neck look.

  5. sUsAn Says:

    What a sweet poncho! I vote for v-neck roll. I used that same yarn last winter for a hat and mittens for one of my girls. Thx for the knitty info too- I hadn’t seen it yet.

  6. Mary Beth Says:

    Yup. Done! That’s the way ponchos are supposed to be! Thanks for the knitty link.

  7. Collette Says:

    I like the poncho like that. That whole rolled-edge thing looks so casual and comfortable to me–just like a poncho should. No job yet, but I’m not really freaked out. Just waiting to see if they are going to pick the negotiations back up. BUT, we are currently rewriting our profile! Yeah! (It was indeed the best written profile ever, grammatically and stylistically flawless with our oh-so-expensive educations glowing, BUT you get no sense of who we REALLY are. So, I’m going to rewrite it more like I actually speak. If that doesn’t scare people away…)

  8. Donna Says:

    I’m with the crowd on this one – leave it as it is, it looks great 🙂

  9. terri Says:

    Leave the neck rolled – it’s just like my Heather’s poncho, and she loves it to death.

  10. Sarah C. Says:

    That’s a funky pink! I think it looks great as-is…if the giftee were fussy or something, then I might do the neck, but a girl would definitely like the casual roll. (And the Knitty Surprise was a pleasant surprise, indeed! What a fantastic theme. Thanks for pointing it out!)

  11. Becky Says:

    Love the poncho, love the color! I’d leave the roll neck. It looks so sweet on a little girl’s poncho.

  12. Severine Says:

    I love your poncho the way it is.
    I just started mine with the same pattern and I will add the hood.

    Happy knitting 🙂
    Severine

  13. godsend Says:

    It’s beautiful!! Leave it!!

  14. Orli Says:

    I think it’s finished. I like it when the neck has that roll effect.
    Yeah, Knitty did a cool thing. I linked it up in my blog.
    I haven’t read about your conversations yet…

  15. Sandra Nadeau Says:

    Love the poncho the way it is! Would like to knit one for my granddaughter. Where can I get the pattern?

  16. Ruth Weitzenfeld Says:

    Looks great. Did you use a pattern? If so, whose is it?


Comments are closed.