Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Breast Cancer Awareness pt. 2 November 4, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:51 am

I’ll start by saying everything is fine. However, last month my new doctor detected 3 lumps. I didn’t even know they were there. From this experience I have learned a few things. Make sure you are doing your self-checks correctly. (I was not). Know your lumps. They exist. They do. Get to know them and keep on eye on them for changes. Consequently, we should check the same time every month. If you have irregular cylces, check 10 days after–consistently!

My doctor was terrific. As soon as she found them, I knew. But she was so good about showing me what felt normal and what felt different. And she wrote them down, a diagram, for me to bring to the radiologist. Only one cyst was found–as they come and go with the changes in our bodies. We will monitor it but she is just being overly cautious due to my family history.

We all know early detection saves lives. We just have to make certain we are checking properly.

Knitting

I hadn’t felt much like knitting with all the emotion of last month. I have worked a bit on Kevin’s Dale sweater as it endless miles of blue stockinette. I also started the Fiesta Yarns Gelato shawl thingie. I love the yarns–I just don’t care for garter stitch. But I am plugging along. I have been dreaming of knitting Kersti again. I really want to buy the Alpaca Silk to knit Lara but really should, at the very least, finish Kersti. Oh, the guilt. Dale_and_fiesta_002Dale_and_fiesta_001

You know, those tassels remind me of the things belly dancers wear on their costumes.

 

17 Responses to “Breast Cancer Awareness pt. 2”

  1. You’re in my thoughts Katy!

  2. Cindy Says:

    Your stronger than anything bad!

  3. chris Says:

    Good wishes coming your way. Keep well.

  4. Vicki Says:

    Good hopes and wishes on their way east. Take care, Katy.

  5. lillium Says:

    I’m glad you’re okay. I know the stress that can be produced with that kind of news. I was also happy to read that the kids are doing so well in school. Why does going to a parent-teacher conference make one feel like they are going to the principal. I now have an empathy for all the poor parents that had to meet with me as a teacher!

  6. Mary Beth Says:

    Hi Katy! You are in my thoughts! Thanks so much for raising our awareness on the nuances of self-exam. Kevin’s sweater looks great! Maybe you could wear those tassels in a strategic location when you go in to see the radioligist? That might brighten his (or her) day a bit? 😉

  7. melissa Says:

    I’m glad it wasn’t serious! I think it not being serious is a great excuse to buy the Alpaca Silk and start a Lara. (its fabulous stuff!)… who, me? Enabler? 🙂

  8. Susan Says:

    I’m so glad you’re okay! Don’t stress about the Kersti. I’m lagging behind on it as well because I just can’t seam it to my satisfaction. If only the seaming of Kersti was as much fun as the knitting!

  9. Annie Says:

    Thank goodness everything checked out OK. I’ve had a few scares myself. I guess with our history, we jump to the worst possible conclusions.

    Knit what you want~ don’t worry about Kersti.

  10. Orli Says:

    1st, THANK YOU for saying that everything is fine stright off, otherwise I think my heart would have sank.
    I can only imagine what you must have been feeling…I remember during my early days of nursing my son, I had slightly engorged breasts that created some milk lamps or what I call “cottage cheese” and those moments before I reached my doctor on the phone I was somewhat scared even though my logic was telling me in wasn’t so.
    It is so important to have a good doctor, your’s sounds really good.
    I also agree with Melissa! I think you deserve to treat your self so some Alpaca Silk. =)Take care

  11. Margene Says:

    Glad you said you were fine at the beginning! My day would be nothing compared to your last month…it must have been a daily roller coaster of fear. Big sigh of relief!

  12. Collette Says:

    Thanks for sharing your story–and I’m especially thankful that everything is okay. I’m now getting ready to call the dr to schedule my first mammogram thanks to your (very welcome) nudge. Hang in there. (I wish I could give you a big hug right now.)

  13. Amy Says:

    Katy, I’m so glad you are ok, I’ve been thinking about you since I saw your comments on the knitty comment board and kept meaning to send an email. BTW, I loved the quote you left in comments earlier this week.

  14. jody Says:

    oh i’m so glad you’re ok! i’m sure it’s been quite a roller coaster of emotions for you though. thank you for sharing too. you’ve got me wondering now if i know what i’m doing. i mean, if i’m going to check i damn well better be getting it right! i’ll have to ask the gyno next time. thanks so much for being open and sharing – you may really help someone who reads this.

    ps – those tassels are very cool!

  15. Kerstin Says:

    Phew! Glad all is well. I had my first baseline at 36 and I sure am glad. I’ve had a couple of “recalls” on my mammograms. Everything’s fine. For now. We have to eradicate this disease . . .

  16. Linda Says:

    Oh babe – I have been wallowing too much in my own pity party and I logon today to find what you have been going through!!! I had to have an MRI for a suspected brain tumor a couple years ago and I know the tunnel that you have been looking through. I am glad that this is a warning and not an actual. I will be keeping you in my thoughts and prayers!
    HUGS HUGS HUGS HUGS

  17. Nathania Says:

    Katy, I’m praying that everything will be ok. I get strange little cysts on my right ovary that eventually go away on their own, but it can be nerve-wracking worrying about it. Much love headed your way!


Comments are closed.