Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Why shop vac your toilet? November 15, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 10:54 am

Thanks for all of the nice compliments on my shawl.  As for the faceless picture…well, there wasn’t much to smile about.  Kevin got home late so we had our "photo shoot" when we got home–around midnight–after his mom left.  However, there were more pressing matters!  The toilet had overflowed.  I had seen Owen drop a little toy fish in the toilet on Friday but I "fished" it out.  I guess he got something else in there.  Kevin and I plunged to no avail.  Kevin snaked with no success.  A little help from Google and I found you could shop vac the toilet.  Kevin did so on Sunday and, it seems, Owen flushed a little Fisher Price dog and a bar of soap.  Never a dull moment.  Plus I have some wicked split ends.  I had no idea my hair looked so icky.  I need a trim desperately.  When will it be long enough to donate to Locks of Love??

I am working on St. Brigid today.  I definately feel out of the loop and not too motivated.  I am still working on Gracie’s poncho and need to start some holiday knitting. The pressure…Here is what I bought at the shop on Saturday.  Rosario_aran_1 The cream colored yarn is for Owen_aran_denim_1 Kevin’s nephew/godson and the dark blue is for the O-man.  Ugh, Owen has chapped lips.  This is a first and he will not let us put chapstick on.  I thought I had him outsmarted by putting it on me and giving him a balmy kiss but he will not let me kiss him anymore.  Smart little bugger.

Soho_mitt Last, I am working on some fingerless mittens.  Granny and I are each knitting one for the shop with the Debbie Bliss Soho.  Granny and I are both running short on yarn. 

Well, everyone needs a good laugh once in a while…here is a silly picture of me in the shawl.Fiesta_shawl_003

 

16 Responses to “Why shop vac your toilet?”

  1. Mary Beth Says:

    Well you still look ravishing in it! Got a kick out of the trick to get the chapstick on (how about vaseline – less waxy and no taste)

  2. Cindy Says:

    One of the issues of bloglines I hate. I quick looked at everyones posts the other day, but didn’t “go into’ any blogs to comment, yours was one I wanted to remember to comment on. I forgot 😦 Anyhow, I LOVED your shirt and shawl very cute you looked.
    Ahh… hair C & C got our haircuts on Sat. and we needed it! We looked like shaggy dogs.

  3. Susan Says:

    I’m trying to grow my hair for Locks of Love, too, but I am inches and inches behind you. At least I can knit faster than my hair grows! 😉

  4. greta Says:

    Burt’s Bees lip balm is tested and approved by my two PICKY chapped lippers …apparently the camphor and menthol smell of the regular stuff *burns* if you are on the autistic spectrum.
    Waiting until your hair is long enough for Locks of LOVE, as daughter and I both did is SO worth it.
    We got the most amazing thank you from the child whose *new hair* came from us.
    xoxoxox

  5. Jackie Says:

    Locks of Love – me too!!Grow Grow Grow!!

  6. chris Says:

    At least you’re swinging the tassels from your hands and not your, um, other things! Gosh, your hair is getting long. Lovely smile, I knew it was there.

  7. Annie Says:

    My daughter did locks of love too. Such a great program. And, your hair looks great! I wish mine was that long & thick & shiny. Nice shawl, too! 🙂

  8. Nancy Says:

    I was lucky I found out about Locks of Love after I cut my hair. The hair stylist asked me if I was going to donate my hair. I had honestly never thought about it so I had her give me the braid and then someone at work told me about Locks of Love and I sent it out.
    I would never have had the patience to wait for it to grow!

  9. Kevin from NY Says:

    I guess everyone is just ignoring the toilet trauma…..seriously i have heard stories of kids who try to put couches in the toilet, so i was greatly relieved when my very manly shopvac sucked both the little dog and the bar of soap up.

    picture really didnt do the shawl justice – it was really a very very nice piece and went well with the shiny shirt.

    did i tell you about meeting chief brody?

  10. Laurie Says:

    Rather sexy look there, Katy. Va-va-voom!

  11. margene Says:

    I am rather upset with Bloglines! Here you update and it doesn’t tell me so! The shawl is more wonderful with your pretty face above it. Does giving your hair to locks of love mean you’re going for more than a trim!!??

  12. Kim Says:

    When my middle son was a toddler, he put a banana down the toilet. A whole banana, less one or two little bites. We had to dismantle the toilet, take it outside and run a snake through it. It wasn’t pretty. To this day he still can’t eat bananas.

    You look beautiful wrapped up in your shawl!

  13. Sarah C. Says:

    I didn’t get a chance before to tell you what a beautiful shawl that turned out to be! And a lovely picture of you, too. The toilet thing was hilarious. I used to flush jewelry down the toilet…it didn’t clog it, but my mother was quite understandably unhappy… (And I’m very glad that your lumps are benign. What a relief!)

  14. ann Says:

    poor Kevin, we are all ignoring his heroic shop-vac-ing skills.

    Kathleen, you are one lucky girl to have such a handy-dandy honey. And of course, seeing you with those tassles, wondering what other hidden talents you have….well, it goes without saying how lucky Mr. Kevin is!

  15. Tina Says:

    Debbie Bliss Soho…it seems like everyone is talking about it. Those fingerless mittens are going to be great, the yarn is similar to Manos right?. Pretty shawl too!

  16. Orli Says:

    I have a similar problem when I need to cut my sons nails. Sometimes I wait till he is asleep (though even than he moves his hands away) sheesh.
    My husband uses lip blam that tastes like grape juice, it’s rather nice, it’s also blue so when he misses his lips it looks like he is turning blue. Oy. Maybe Owen will like something like that.
    W/regards to the comment you left on my blog. I’m not expecting yet, husband and I are hoping next summer…but I highly doubt it. I have a feeling that once again I will need to get shots in order to get pregnant…as I’m still not menstrating…though I am still nursing.
    Love all the photos. Locks of Love is a worthy cause to grow your hair out for. I never knew of that org. I’m 5’6 (1.67 meters) and it took me 4 years to get my hair past the middle of my back…so you might need to be patient.


Comments are closed.