Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

From drive by to copycat December 3, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 7:05 pm

1.      I am the youngest in my family.

2.      I have always gone by Kathleen.  My parents would write me notes and address it to KT when I was in high school and in college.  Thus Katy became acceptable.

3.      Never Kathy!

4.      I have colored my hair pink, purple and blue.  Not at the same time.

5.      I have never had a perm or a body wave.  I like my hair straight.

6.      I grayed early but it doesn’t bother me.  It does bother my sister who is a hair colorist.

7.      I have lived in NY, Alaska, Massachusetts and England.

8.      I graduated college in 3 ½ years with a BA in Theology, Sociology and a minor in Peace Studies.

9.      I wanted to pursue a Master of Divinity with a combined Master of Social Work.

10.  I had the opportunity to be mentioned in a well known Feminist Theology book but I didn’t agree with the author so I didn’t do it.

11.  I used to be an adamant believer in goddess worship.

12.  While in Alaska, I changed my last name.  She is a Canaanite goddess who protects women and children.  All my coworkers at the shelter were getting divorced and changing their names.

13.  I wanted my own name—not my father’s name.

14.  My kids are hyphenated.

15.  After college I had the opportunity to volunteer in Alaska, Australia or Portugal.

16.  I sometimes regret not going to Portugal as I was going to be personal assistant to Maria da Lourdes-Pintasilgo, the first female Prime Minister of Portugal.

17.  I flew in float planes to remote villages in Alaska where I did presentations on domestic violence, child abuse and sexual assault.

18.  I was a vegetarian for many years.

19.  I ate some nasty things in Alaska such as herring eggs off plants, dried seaweed dipped in seal oil and whale blubber.

20.  I dreamed of being a kept woman and living in Tenakee Springs, Alaska.  It has a population of about 100 and is remote and amazing.

21.  When I first met my husband, I vowed never to date him.

22.  He seemed a bit pretentious as he worked for Merrill Lynch and drove a BMW.

23.  He is the first person I have ever been faithful to.

24.  My best friend introduced us and we went to a restaurant where you could draw on the table, Doodles.  We played a Pictionary game.  Kevin said draw a train wreck.  Everyone drew trains and tracks.  I drew a mouth with food coming out.  He was smitten.

25.  I have advanced diving certification.

26.  I learned in Alaska.

27.  I would love to be reincarnated as an eagle.

28.  I used to sing karaoke at the Moose Lodge in Sitka.

29.  My song was, “New York, New York”.

30.  My housemates and I did a Tahitian Dance at the Moose Lodge for their Luau.

31.  I used to be very pro-life.

32.  It was quite the contradiction with my feminist friends.

33.  I am pro-choice.

34.  I co-created a woman’s spirituality group in college called Womynspace.

35.  Many of my ex-boyfriends are now gay.

36.  I often wonder if it was me or them.

37.  It works out well ‘cause Kevin doesn’t get jealous.

38.  I wanted 7 children.

39.  I now wonder if I was nuts.

40.  My doctor wants me to have a hysterectomy but I am holding off if I win the lottery I would easily have more kids.

41.  I don’t play the lottery.

42.  Owen was meant to be a girl adopted from China.

43.  If he had been a girl, I would have named her Lillian Octavia.

44.  I used to be accused of being too kind.  I try to temper my kindness with honesty.

45.  I thought all of my children would go through school without any problems academically.

46.  I feel blessed that I learned such terrific advocacy skills in Alaska.

47.  I hate autism but am oddly fascinated by it at the same time.

48.  I seriously thought of killing myself after we got Owen’s diagnosis.

49.  I thought I would be sparing Kevin, Gracie and Cameron.

50.  ‘Cause Owen was coming with me.

51.  Knowledge has meant power for me.  And I enjoy learning about autism.

52.  England was very difficult for Kevin and I.

53.  The house we lived in had many problems and the estate agent sucked.

54.  We had lots of friends though and a terrific support system.  I miss them terribly.

55.  Kevin made a childhood dream come true when we lived there—we took a trip to Legoland in Denmark.

56.  I was accosted by children twice in Rome—while holding Cameron.  It was horrible.

57.  I knocked off someone’s windscreen mirror (sideview mirror) when we lived in London and I drove away.

58.  I hated driving there.

59.  I was born Catholic, raised Lutheran, converted back to Catholicism and was thrilled when I decided God was a womyn.

60.  I am apathetic toward religion now.

61.  My confirmation name is Philomena.

62.  Gracie made her communion but it was more about the dress.

63.  When I got married in the Catholic Church, I walked down the aisle to the Processional from The Sound of Music.

64.  I rented my wedding dress from an antique store.

65.  I wanted a crocheted Irish Wedding dress. If I start now, maybe I can make one for Gracie’s daughter!

66.  This seemed easy at first and now not.

67.  We brought a priest into the church to use inclusive language.

68.  He kept on screwing up.

69.  I wanted to correct him but was afraid God would strike me down.

70.  I wouldn’t be scared today.

71.  I hate to clean.

72.  I am bad at cleaning.

73.  My house is cluttered–I throw almost nothing out.

74.  I don’t like to go clothes shopping.

75.  I prefer smaller shops with less selection.

76.  I am overweight and I don’t really care.

77.  I feel just a little bit heavier than I did when I was 50lbs lighter.

78.  We are getting a cleaning person.

79.  I think making the bed is silly.

80.  Cameron is cute and gets away with more than he probably should.

81.  I hate yogurt.

82.  I don’t drink milk anymore and it bums me out.

83.  I really love cereal and oatmeal.

84.  Cream of Wheat is my all time favorite but it doesn’t taste the same without milk.

85.  I would like to go back to graduate school someday.

86.  I am not sure what I want to study.

87.  I have some courses in Public Health but I am sure they are expired.

88.  I voted for Nader in this election and the last.

89.  My mom and I can butt heads pretty badly.

90.  I haven’t spoken to my sister for over a month.

91.  No comment necessary from you mom.

92.  Kevin and I have been through a lot.

93.  And marriage has been much harder than I thought it would be.

94.  We are there for each other when times are toughest.

95.  I need him.

96.  Needing people is hard for me.

97.  I am argumentative.

98.  I hate when people read over my shoulder.

99.  I prefer odd numbers.

100.  Kevin thinks I am exceptional.  Can you see why I love him?

101.  He is one of the kindest people I know.

 

19 Responses to “From drive by to copycat”

  1. Michelle Says:

    I have had so much fun reading all the 100 thing lists that have been made this week. Thanks for adding yours!

  2. margene Says:

    I think you are exceptional, too. And a very interesting and complicated person. Thank you for sharing your life and allowing us to know so much about you.

  3. Annie Says:

    What a great list. You are an amazing womyn! Glad to know you. 🙂

  4. Christy Says:

    KT,
    This is the most interesting 100 things list I have ever read. I am absolutely amazed and interested and wowed by you. Seriously!
    Wow!
    Christy

  5. Lauren Says:

    Wow, that was really fascinating.

  6. Vicki Says:

    Your list really is interesting! I think you are exceptional, too, and kind and honest and helpful — and a great mom and a super advocate for your kids. Thank you.

  7. Kevin from NY Says:

    i remember that 7 kids thing – we were in a canoe and you laid that one on me….i was thinking, ok….7 kids…..thats about 3 million in college tuition, i hope she marries some guy who’s loaded.

    you rock hon

  8. Mom Says:

    You forgot halibut cheeks, yuck!
    also any color as long as it’s green, like myself.
    I can’t remember the last time we butted heads, remind me, LOL

  9. Amy Says:

    I’m with you on #s 23 & 35, do you think they have something to do with each other? I loved reading your list, you’ve cemented your place as one of my imaginary-would-be-best-friends. You make me feel less alone out here ~ thank you.

  10. Cindy Says:

    Very cool womyn you are. : )

  11. ann Says:

    what a great list! can’t believe all the things you have done — why do we always talk about knitting when we get together?? I want to hear more about the Tahitian Dance for starters!

  12. Mary Beth Says:

    Amazing. KT – you’ve come a long way, baby. Have you tried cream of wheat with butter on top? Talk about comfort food…

  13. Amy Says:

    Great list. We were in Denmark’s Legoland this past summer–it was such great fun! We bought a two day package and stayed at the legoland hostel. We all loved it–not just my two year old. We all loved the amazing lego scenes, my husband was impressed that a kid’s park had beer and polser (sausages in bagettes), and my two year old thought the roller coaster was the coolest! Glad you were able to go as well.

  14. Kim Says:

    Wow. WOW. You are so young to have lived such an amazing, interesting, full life.

    P.S. Instead of milk on the Cream of Wheat, have you ever tried a scoop of vanilla ice cream? Yeah yeah, I know it’s also a dairy product, but it’s SOOOO good!!

  15. Nancy Says:

    You are amazing! What amazing experiences you have had. I’m quite jealous and very much in awe. I’m glad to have you as a blog buddy.

  16. Norma Says:

    Fabulously interesting and complex list. I wanted more, more more! I think making the bed is silly too.

  17. Sarah C. Says:

    I agree – great list! You sound like such a fabulous, well-rounded, and independent person…I hope we get to meet up in LI someday!

  18. Laurie Says:

    You know what? You know WHAT? You are kick-ass, that’s what. Kathleen, dear heart, your honesty and forthright attitude are stunning. Thank you for being non-apologetic and proud. I loved your list. I feel that you could teach me so much. I wish I could know you and sit down together and talk and laugh and cry and knit.

  19. chelsea Says:

    wonderful list…(I love the ones about your time in Alaska!)

    It amazes me how the items in these lists tend to “weave” in and out of funny, deeply personal, and revelatory. Thank you very much for sharing them all with us!


Comments are closed.