Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Socks, scarves and no St. Brigid December 23, 2004

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:38 am

Mema_socks These are my mom’s latest Koigu socks.  As I said, she is knitting through her impressive stash one skein at a time.  I have my choice of sock.  Any thoughts?  She had me pegged for the Traveler’s Sock–I love that pattern but I have coveted that green Koigu in her stash for quite some time.   

I have finally finished my holiday knitting.  The last 2 scarves get gifted today.  Knittinaroundtheclock Miss_g_scarf I am really pleased with Miss G’s green dropped stitch scarf.  It was a pain in the butt but it looks very nice.  On the quilt we have the rest–less one overly fluffy scarf.  Starting in the top left corner, Blizzard hat for Cam’s OT, green scarf for Cam’s reading teacher, red Blizzard hat for his speech teacher, next to that one a Sheela scarf and CZ ring for Cam’s teacher, beneath that scarf for the MIL knit with Tess Designer Yarns cultivated silk/merino with microfiber ribbon edging, blue scarf for crossing guard and the multidirectional scarf for Owen’s home teacher. 

I have been a terrible St. Brigid knitalong host as of late.  Sorry.  I promise, after the holidays are over to do better.  🙂  I am nearly finished with my shopping.  Last minute stuff to even up the gifts for the kids.  Cameron really wanted that S’mores Maker and it is nowhere to be found.  I broke down and went to Linen’s and Things to get there more grown up version–one damaged one left.  I took it.  I was joking with Gracie that it will have to be from mom and dad ’cause Santa doesn’t give broken gifts–they go to the Island of Misfit Toys.  She is getting a kick out of this whole Christmas thing.  And Cameron is amazing to watch.  He believes so wholeheartedly.  His teacher had letters sent to the kids from Santa.  He slept with it under his pillow last night. 

 

12 Responses to “Socks, scarves and no St. Brigid”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Sleeping with Santa’s letter — that is so precious. One of my sisters believed — wholeheartedly — all the way through 6th grade! Amazing, since I found out in 1st (I’m good with secrets). I think she’s still in shock about it all.

    Wonderful gift knitting, Katy!

    I think I can say that we’ve all been terrible St. Brigid KALers of late — we’re sure not giving our host anything to work with! I hope to get back to it after the holidays, too.

  2. Annie Says:

    Awww…sleeping with his letter is adorable. Priceless.

    What pattern is the sock on the far left? I love them all~ tell your mom they look great!

    Merry Christmas, Kathleen.

  3. Michelle Says:

    I like those green Koigu socks too. I knit myself a pair of the Traveler’s Socks when that pattern first came out. It seemed like it took me about 100 hours of knitting to finish them. I love them though- despite the holes I’ve worn in them.

    My children already know Santa’s a sham. Some older kid on the bus told Josiah santa was made up and he promptly came home and told his brother. It saddens me only because it seems that Levi (just turned 4) is growing up too quickly.

  4. Margene Says:

    Children are so sweet…what a lovely image to keep in your heart. I’m partial to the Travelers socks (and to purple!) Follow your heart. Merry Christmas to you and your whole family!

  5. Norma Says:

    I love the green. Well, I love them both, but if it were me, I’d choose the green. They’re both gorgeous. You are so lucky! And I love that drop-stitch scarf. Very elegant.

  6. ann Says:

    do you have to limit your pick to just one pair? I say pick ’em all!

    Merry, merry Christmas Kathleen!

  7. Sharon Says:

    I’m voting for the green socks!

    I know what you mean about Santa. My little guy is 8 this year and I have a feeling that this is the last Christmas he’ll believe in Santa. He has been asking a lot of questions and keeps telling everyone that he believes in Santa, almost as if he is trying to convince himself. It breaks my heart. Isn’t it strange how the smallest things touch your heart the most? With me it is the day I have to go through his drawers to get rid of stuff that is too small. You don’t want to be around me on that day; I just too sad.

    Have a great holiday.

  8. Rachael Says:

    Merry, merry, dear!
    🙂

  9. Laurie Says:

    Green AND purple? It would be very tough for me to choose between those two! Lucky you.

  10. Orli Says:

    Well, I must say you have been busy. The drop st. scarf is very nice…did you knit it horisontally?

    Isn’t that sweet of Cameron. Your multidirectional scarf looks fab. Maybe I’ll make one next year for another collegue of mine.

    As for the socks I really like the one with the dimond shape going down the middle…I can’t see the one on the needle too well but it also looks really nice. I must say, that must take some patience, what with those dpn and all.

    Happy Holidays!

  11. Kim Says:

    Oooh, that dropped stitch scarf is gorgeous! Worth the hassle, don’t you think?

    Happy New Year! 🙂

  12. Susan Says:

    I like the green. Isn’t it the New England Sock from Knitting on the Road? I made it in yellow and love it.


Comments are closed.