Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I have to brag January 19, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 4:53 pm

I had a team meeting at Owen’s school today.  It was wonderful.  Amazing!  I went into it thinking nothing they could say would upset me.  The last meeting said it all.  However…Owen has been expressing quite an interest in letters lately.  His teacher decided to probe the upper case alphabet letters and wouldn’t you know–Owen knew them all!  Yup, his brilliant mom said, "All 24?"  They told me it was all 26.  And they think he knows his numbers up to 20–if not higher.  They will have to probe the lower case letters.  And when he has all of them–if he doesn’t already–get this!!  Spelling. 

I had to phone everyone and anyone on the way home from the meeting and brag.  My mom said he will probably read pretty easily too.  And I suspect he will.  He loves to look at books.  The amazing thing is that Owen has not been formally taught letters–he learned it on his own.  I could cry. 

Knitting.  I have been working on Clapotis.  I will upload a picture later, after the kids go to bed.  I have dropped 2 stitches  so far.  Fun.

 

17 Responses to “I have to brag”

  1. Tish Says:

    Congratulations Owen! The sky’s the limit. And congrats to your mom and your family for being so supportive and helping you to grow and shine.

  2. Donna Says:

    Hooray for Owen!! 🙂

  3. Rossana Says:

    Such exciting news indeed! Yay Owen!

  4. Norma Says:

    Wowee! I’m glad he knows all *26* of those letters, but I would have been satisfied if he only knew 24 — you too, I bet!

  5. jody Says:

    oh that’s great! i’m so happy for both of you 🙂

  6. margene Says:

    Very good news! Are you down off the ceiling yet!?

  7. Jean Says:

    Yeah, Owen! I know exactly how you feel and you are well within your rights to brag!! As the mom of an Aspie, I know the relief!

  8. Orli Says:

    You see!!!! Good news comes to those who wait.
    As for 24 ltr. maybe you were thiking about another lungage. You know hebrew just has 22 ltr + 2, so maybe that was it =)

  9. Michelle Says:

    Congratulations!

  10. Joanne Says:

    A few tears here, again, at reading your blog, but tears of joy this time. Your news about Owen is just WONDERFUL!There is a briliiant little person in there, who is putting all the pieces together on his own, making sense of things.

  11. Nancy Says:

    Amazing and wonderful! I’m so thrilled for you and Owen.

  12. Cindy Says:

    AWHHH! makes a “surrogate blog mom” proud 😉 Yea Owen!

  13. Vicki Says:

    I have some catching up to do! Congratulations on your anniversary! And Owen — YIPPEE! That is so great, oh brilliant Katy! ; ) Fabulous!!

  14. karen Says:

    That is the BEST news! Congratulations!

  15. Angi Says:

    Yea Owen!!!!!!

  16. Laurie Says:

    Yep–he’s in there, Katy. ‘Course, you knew that. Congratulations on that beam of sunshine. Blessings to you.


Comments are closed.