Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Pat a cake, pat a cake February 3, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 1:34 pm

Baker’s woman.  Tomorrow is Cameron’s birthday.  Of course, he wants cupcakes with hearts.  And a Scooby Doo birthday cake for home.  While I’m at it, might as well make cookies for tonight’s school event.  I am covered with chocolate cake mix.  Seriously, up my sleeves and a spray across my shirt.  What the hell just happened in that kitchen?  Did_i_say_mystery_machine

Last year was much easier.  A brownie for a cake.  This year–the Mystery Machine.  Owen is pretty easy.  He doesn’t eat cake or cupcakes–just rice crispy treats.  Can I pull this off?  The cupcakes will be easy.  I am going to add some sprinkles to the hearts…Kevin was a little concerned about the girliness of the hearts.  I love that Cam is not controlled by stereotypes at this time.    The cookies are done.  It’s just that freaking cake.  I hate decorating cakes.  Heck, I hate making them–even from a box.  And why were the cupcakes so difficult to get into the little paper thingies?  And why do they give you so many paper things?  Isn’t 24 a standard baking number?  Clearly, I am cake decoratingly challenged.  Good thing my children are easily impressed. 

Knitting…not much time for that.  I am just about 1/2 way done with the last sleeve on Owen’s pullover.  And I am about a 1/3 of the way through a red scarf for the Red Scarf Project.  When I am less slimed with cake I will take some pictures.  Clapotis has been sadly neglected till I get these other projects off my back.  So much for the process, huh?  And I don’t even want to mention the hat the Resource Room teacher wants me to knit.  I can’t say no.  At least that’s quick. 

 

11 Responses to “Pat a cake, pat a cake”

  1. Michelle Says:

    Happy birthday to Cameron!

  2. Nancy Says:

    Happy birthday to Cameron. Can we promise to never tell Avery about that mystery machine cake? The hulk cake 2 years ago was hard enough!

  3. Margene Says:

    Have a great day Cameron. I’m wishing for a cupcake…that sounds so good. Enjoy!!!

  4. Vicki Says:

    Aw, the Mystery Machine is cute! The boys’ birthdays are close, huh? So are my girls’ (all three!) — we get sick of cake. Ever hear of birthday donuts?

    Happy Birthday Cameron!!

  5. Rossana Says:

    What a fun day (OK, OK, so you’re in the kitchen with chocolate pieces parts all over you…but your kids will realize when they’re older how totally cool their mom is to love them so much as to create such yummies!)! Happy Birthday, Cameron! Mmmm…cake…

  6. ann Says:

    Happy Birthday!!! if you are baking challenged, you should check out the Cake Doctor’s book!

  7. greta Says:

    Happy, Happy Birthday to your boys….gosh, they grow up so FAST, don’t they?
    xoxoxo

  8. Angi Says:

    Great cake! Happy Birthday Cameron!!! I hope you have a really fun day!

  9. Kim Says:

    As much of a pain as decorating cakes can be, the look on your son’s face makes it all worth it. 🙂 You’re a great mom!

  10. kevin from ny Says:

    i seem to recall a certain crafty girl taking a cake making class a few years back, spending oodles of dough (pun intended) on materials, and tools, and pans…..and i have to say, it was all worth it…..loved the mystery machine….you are a good mom

  11. Orli Says:

    I hate not having the time to do this. I’m not much of a cook and I feel it now shoes in my sons choice of food…however, I have always enjoyed baking, cookies and cakes, as long as thier isn’t too much fussines if you know what I mean. I love decorating but these day’s i’m challenged since I don’t want to use food colors…this year I fear things went array…but at least my son got a birthday cake at grandma’s home. One thing MIL is good for 😉


Comments are closed.