Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

they both have cheese March 1, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 1:38 pm

Along the same French lines of Clapotis, french fries, french toast and the french dip–Kevin has offered me the opportunity to go away by myself this year.  This does not count a weekend in Maryland with my mom and Gracie at the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival.  On the block are a trip to Paris or a trip to Wisconsin. 

Gracie’s godfather and my dear friend from high school and college lives in Paris.  I visited in 2003 and had a fabulous time.  Just the flight–business class– was relaxing.  Granted I will be going economy this time but still…Paris. 

I have been to Wisconsin several times as well.  My  mom has attended knitting camp many times in Shell Lake and Marshfield.  My dad and I went with her or I went and stayed at Meg’s house with her kids.  Liesl, in turn, would come to New York.  My mom says she would go with me to camp.  Her good friend, Elaine, said she would meet us there.  It would be like old times…only I actually want to knit now. 

The applications for camp are out this month.  So I must decide quickly…what would you do?

 

29 Responses to “they both have cheese”

  1. Margene Says:

    Are you kidding? Paris, grrl!!!!

  2. Amy Says:

    You name dropper you! PARIS PARIS PARIS

  3. Colleen Says:

    I have three words for you: GO TO PARIS!

  4. jody Says:

    even if it wasn’t paris, i think the paris trip would be more just for yourself. more relaxing and centering. i’m sure you’d have a great time on either trip, but paris is just well…paris.

    and if you feel the need to make it more knitty you can always bring back some great french yarn and patterns!

  5. Nancy Says:

    Paris, Paris, Paris

  6. Lolly Says:

    I think it is a consensus! PARIS!!

    Oh, it will be great to see everyone at Maryland Sheep and Wool!

  7. Cathy Says:

    They do have yarn and knitting in Paris, you know. And even if they didn’t, it’s still Paris. 😀

  8. Vicki Says:

    For purely, PURELY selfish reasons, I cast my measly little vote for Wisconsin. Only because it might afford me an opportunity to meet YOU and your mom — Camp is probably a little beyond me, but Marshfield is my mom & dad’s hometown, I’m only 2 hours away, and I have relatives up the wazoo there.

    But if I had your Paris connections, alas, that’s probably what -I- would do! (I’ll be okay, really.)

    ; )

  9. Annie Says:

    Definitely Paris. Being alone on a plane for that long is worth the price~ just imagine the peace and quiet. And then you get to visit with your friend.
    You deserve the most relaxing trip you can take & that sounds like Paris. 🙂

  10. Emma. Says:

    Both sweetheart.Both !
    That,or I’ll go to camp and you go to Paris ! ;-]
    I am astounded that you ‘know’ Meg.About 15 years ago she and Elizabeth changed my knitting,and my approach to it and to some extent life,forever.

  11. sUsAn Says:

    What fun choices you have! My first inclination would be to say PARIS!

  12. rebecca Says:

    Um…..Paris! How exciting!

  13. Judy H. Says:

    Okay, I’m really in a minority here, but scr*w Paris. It’ll always be there. Go to camp!!

  14. kevin from NY Says:

    i’d gladly chuck in the miles for an upgrade if you agree to finish my dale sweater. allright maybe if you just knit me a hat…..a scarf? dinner? can you knit me some dinner? ann’s fry up looked pretty good, except for the baby ruth

    ok – a box of cheetos, a beer and and a bag of twizzlers…….work with me here

  15. Susan Wallace akaMom Says:

    As I remember the last time you saw Paris was 11/03, the last time you saw WI was, perhaps 1983!
    I’ve got to do the thumbs for Elaine’s Latvian mittens before I see her again.
    MSWF will be enough wooliness for me.
    I just wanna come home.

  16. Mary Beth Says:

    Paris, but I don’t think you should go alone. O-KAY.., I’ll go with you. Or I’ll go to camp as your ambassedor. Oh well. Lucky you!

  17. Anita Says:

    If this is the rock and the hard place, I’d gladly be the meat in the sandwich!

    you can’t go wrong either way. Just take lots of pics to share!

  18. Rossana Says:

    PARIS PARIS PARIS! Wow, what a great set of options, either way you choose! I only got a choice of Vegas or New Orleans for my bday. Your hubby rocks!

  19. Lorette Says:

    What are you thinking, girl? PARIS! You can knit in Paris as well as at knitting camp. Buy a new book on knitting technique and take it to France with you.

  20. Kim Says:

    Sigh—I hate to sound like everyone else, but…..I’d go to Paris. 🙂

  21. Jean Says:

    Now see… that’s a tough one. Paris will always be there though… will knitting camp? I wouldn’t want to have to make your choice.
    If you go to Paris, I might just be able to meet up with you! Dan was just saying yesterday that, though we weren’t that crazy about Paris (we’d both been before we knew each other), we’d like to take the boys to see the Eiffel tower and the Louvre. It’s only a seven-hour drive, so if you are headed to France, let me know! And if you wanted to take a side journey to Germany, we’re just train ride away! 🙂

  22. Collette Says:

    Yikes, what a choice. It doesn’t help that they are so different. It’s not like you have to choose between Paris and London. I’ve been to a number of places in Europe but never Paris so that’s really attractive to me. However, if you should happen to fly into Chicago for knitting camp (and that camp is way the hell up in the middle of nowhere so I don’t really know where you’d fly into), dinner is on me–and bring your mom!

  23. No doubt about it…PARIS!

  24. Angi Says:

    I think you should look in your heart to see which trip would bring you the most joy, in actualtiy and the memories. Both have their advantages with no apparent down side. Where do the kids want souvenirs from?

  25. ann Says:

    as you are agonizing over this decision, your darling husband is starving to death! feed the guy for godssake!

    ps. I was first going to vote for Paris, until I read Vicki’s comment, now I am rooting for camp!

  26. Jennifer Says:

    OK… Isn’t Paris for Lovers? I think you finagle 2 trips out of this – one for yourself to Camp and then slyly convince hubby to take you away on a romantic getaway to Paris sans filles.

  27. Rachael Says:

    Paris Paris Paris!
    (Or how ’bout Venice, mmmm?)
    🙂

  28. Orli Says:

    Ooh, La, La!!!! Gay Paree…seriously though, even though I have an axe to grind with the French, but hay, who doesn’t…I would opt for a trip abroad any day, unless it was to Iran or something like that 😛
    Oh boy, reading your blog sure cheers me up after a deflating end of the day at work.

  29. Sheila Says:

    I would go to the Knitting camp, if it was me. Especially if I have the opportunity to do something on my own. The Knitting Camp is on my list of things to do, either this year or next. Good luck in your decision.I know you will have a great time, no matter which you choose.


Comments are closed.