Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

I can have my cheese and eat it too March 11, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:03 am

I was leaning toward Knitting Camp.  My mom is not getting any younger and I really want to share this experience with her before, as Gracie liked to say, she "kicks the button".  Not to be morbid or graphic but I am concerned that if we don’t go in the next year or two it isn’t going to happen.  She is getting older, her hip is bothering her.  Knitting Camp itself would be fine…I think it is getting there–airports, etc–that would be the most challenging for her.

Unfortunately, this summer is out.  Our summer vacation to Hilton Head is already planned.  Knitting Camp is just too close to that for Kevin to take time off of work again.  So I was planning on the summer of 2006.  However, Kevin said I should just do both.  Really? 

No doubt, Paris would be more of a vacation.  The flight alone, all alone, is relaxing.  My friend and his partner treated me like a princess when I was there the last time.  Dinners out, a trip to the country, yarn shopping and clothes shopping for the kids.  So, if we can time it right…I guess I’ll do both. 

 

13 Responses to “I can have my cheese and eat it too”

  1. Joanne Says:

    Do the stuff with your mom. I took my parents to Italy in 2001 and was glad we had the chance to do that together. I don’t know if they can travel by themselves anymore, it’s too overwhelming for them, and your post reminds me I need to do something like this for them again.
    I went to the SnB last night, and was mostly the quiet old lady in the corner, but stayed til the end and finally started chatting a bit with Cherise, Laurie, and Sarah who were the last to leave.

  2. Karen Says:

    Doing both! The perfect solution. I know what you mean about wanting to do things with your Mom while you can. I spend as much time with mine as possible. She’s going to be 73 so “kicking the button” (too cute!!) is in her not to distant future too.

  3. jody Says:

    Oh that’s awesome! What a great guy! The Paris time will be therapeutic and the Knitting Camp time will be fulfilling. I’m so happy for you 🙂

  4. Colleen Says:

    Then by all means do both. Life is short and nothing is guaranteed. GO FOR IT!

  5. Margene Says:

    Woohooo!!!! Perfect, just perfect.

  6. Rossana Says:

    Do you remember an episode of the “Brady Bunch” on TV when one of the kids has his/her tonsils removed? Mom Brady asks something like, “Do you want chocolate, vanilla or strawberry ice cream?” And the kid happily nods his/her head, “Yes” … as in yes to all three flavors. What good fortune to have such a considerate hubby and a great mom you WANT to spend time with! By all means, do both! =)

  7. Good for you…do both, you lucky girl, you!!!

  8. Kevin from NY Says:

    mmmmmmmmm……cheese

  9. lillium Says:

    Oh – I definitely would have voted for both. Lucky you!

  10. Linda Says:

    Hello girl!! Hopefully you can do both trips. They are both important in unique ways. Also you deserve it LOL!!! Sorry I have been a stranger – life got to overwhelming and I curled up in my shell. Think I am coming around again!

  11. Mary Beth Says:

    Both sounds good – I hate making decisions!

  12. sUsAn Says:

    Yea! Hope everything works out for you to do both. I can relate about doing things now with your mom too. Tempus fugit!

  13. Orli Says:

    Yeah, go for it, if you don’t have to choose. What a kewl husband.
    I’m one of those people that if i’m alone on a plane (and I have been 12 hours from Tel Aviv to JFK) that I will just chat with the strangers sitting next to me…becaues I don’t sleep much on planes.


Comments are closed.