Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Who knew? March 18, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:26 am

Yesterday I felt quite defeated by the whole experience with Owen’s school.  Self-doubt set in.  Maybe they know better and I am in denial.  It didn’t help that I had to go to the dentist and have a filling fixed.  Ow!  My molar was killing me all day long.  And the Twizzler’s I bought–to make me feel better–didn’t help!

I swung by my mom’s house for a pulse warmer tutorial.  What can make a person feel better than size 0 needles?  I don’t think I have had the pleasure of size 0’s before.  0s_make_me_happy It’s actually quite entertaining but I feel like a bit of a project floozy.  I had been dutifully working on my friend’s baby blanket and I have cast it aside for a pulse warmer.  But I am using the Elann Baby Cashmere.  It’s very soft.  And very comforting.  But I was cruising on the blanket.  I will get back to it eventually…besides the baby isn’t due to June.  I was just floozing St. Brigid.  At least I am faithful to my husband.  Did I just write that?  It’s the tooth talking.

Back to Owen.  Kevin put a call into our school district to see if we can bounce some ideas off the chairperson of special education.  He’s a good guy.  But they aren’t as impressed by integration as we are.  Another option is to move–again.  But I don’t think we can keep doing this to Gracie and Cameron.  Sometimes, I feel like a woman on the run. 

In happier news, I am off to a needle felting extravaganza tonight at Joanne’sAnn will be coming too.  And I am bringing chocolate ’cause she is quitting smoking today!  Go wish her luck!  And Vicki too!  You two can do it! 

 

7 Responses to “Who knew?”

  1. Kris Says:

    I have been reading your site for a while and following your joys and trials with getting services for Owen. I just wanted to encourage you and tell you to follow your instincts. God gave Owen to YOU and you know him best. I work in pediatrics and you have always come across to me as someone who is realistic but advocating for her child. Don’t be afraid, stand up for what you think is best!

    Kris H.
    Florida

  2. Lisa Says:

    Just want you to know – I’m thinking a lot about you and Owen these past couple days. My mom is a special ed teacher – so I’ve seen frustrations, at least from her side, in dealing with administration and what seems like their lack of understanding and willingness to take risk and step outside of comfort zone. I know you will find the right thing to do for everyone. I greatly admire your tenacity and dedication to your children. I hope to be a mom like you some day. 🙂

  3. Margene Says:

    Fickle knitter unite! Hope the tooth feels better!

  4. Vicki Says:

    Thanks Katy! Please give Ann a big hug for me tonight — then ask her to hug you back for me! Then hug everybody else and have fun needle-felting.

  5. ann Says:

    I had a great time tonight and this afternoon! It was a Kathleen-palooza! We will have to get together again real soon!

    who da thunk that licorice is bad for you teeth??!!

  6. Collette Says:

    Hang in there Kathleen. No matter what the school says, you really do know Owen best. I don’t understand why they won’t even try it. So okay, let’s say it doesn’t work well. Then you stop. No harm done. But try it. It’s not like you’re asking to fully integrate him into a classroom immediately. Yikes. Schools are sometimes the very worst kind of bureacracies (or little fifedoms). I’m thinking about you. (On the tooth front, be careful–I once lost a filling on a good-n-plenty–remember those?)

  7. Orli Says:

    Ann and Vicki you can go girls, you can both do because you just HAVE TOO.
    Katy: Sorry to hear about the school and tooth…I’m just catching up on your blog, so I’m reading backwords so I’m still not sure what’s it about, but I sympathize with your feelings.


Comments are closed.