Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

someone…please! April 10, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 4:30 pm

I didn’t think I was going to participate in the interview meme going around the blogs–for multiple reasons–including a bit of a worry that no one would want me to interview them and fear of some hard to answer question.  However, when Margene said she would interview one person only–and I was the first to comment…well, it seemed like fate.  I adore Margene and have great respect for her and her needlework.  So, the rules are as follows…and someone, please request. 

  1. Leave a comment saying "Interview Me". I will list your questions on THIS blog.
  2. You will give answers on YOUR blog.
  3. You will include this explanation and offer to interview someone else in the same post.
  4. You should ask 5 questions.
  1. You have lived in Alaska and speak of it often in comments on my blog. Would you like to live there again?  Simply, no.  It was the most beautiful place I have ever lived.  The beauty was overwhelming and brought me such peace.  However, it is a very hard and isolated life.  Irrespective of Owen’s autism, I wouldn’t want to raise any of my children there.  I always hoped Kevin and I would volunteer there after retirement and the kids were settled. 
  2. Your mother is a knitter extraordinaire and most likely taught you to knit at a young age. When did you decide you love to knit and that it would be a part of your everyday life?   While I did learn to knit at a young age and enjoyed it, I struggled with casting on.  Even in Alaska, I had the residents of the shelter cast on for me.  A few months after Owen was born a little yarn shop opened in our town, a friend got me into the overcrowded class and I learned the kindergarten cast on.  In my sleep, a few weeks later I dreamed how to do a long tail cast on and it has been a passion since the summer of 2000.
  3. We have the same philosophy on housekeeping. Does it bother you or (like me) do you think a ‘lived in’ house is A-ok? It doesn’t seem to bother me enough to do something about it.  I do wish I were tidier and enforced my children tidying as well.  The dust bunnies, crumbs and disorganization drive me crazy–especially since we have a teacher at our house Monday through Friday.  In MA, I tried to schedule playdates for the kids on cleaning person day.
  4. If you decided to work outside the home what would your dream job be?  I struggle with this thought quite a bit.  Before Gracie came along, I wanted a combined Master of Divinity and Master of Social Work.  Since then I have considered Library Science, Special Education and Law.  I think I am leaning toward Special Education advocacy.  I would love to advocate on behalf of families like my own. 
  5. What is one thing you would love to do that you haven’t done as yet? I have tossed and turned this question in my head many, many times.  I sometimes think a lot of doors are closed because of taking care of Owen.  I thought of travel related things…like Africa or New Zealand.  Thrill seeking things…like bungee jumping or skydiving.  One of the things that I most wanted to do in this life was adopt a girl from China. 

Margene, thanks for asking such fabulous questions and for being such a wonderful blog friend.

Added later…wow, I hardly expected one person to ask and now I have several.  I don’t think I can handle more than that.  I am quitting at 4, possibly 5 if I learn how to read Finnish.

 

12 Responses to “someone…please!”

  1. Emma. Says:

    Go on then ! ‘Interview me” !!!

    Why ? Special needs in common…

  2. Annie Says:

    Another thing we have in common~ a desire to adopt a girl from China. πŸ™‚

  3. jody Says:

    lovely, well-thought out answers. i’m glad to hear the lived in look is loved by others πŸ™‚

    and what the heck, interview me! i’ve been avoiding the whole thing myself but for some reason i’ve decided it’s time.

  4. Emma. Says:

    I meant to add,unless you don’t want to. :0)
    Really.I won’t take it personally !

  5. Norma Says:

    Ok, this part gave me chills: “In my sleep, a few weeks later I dreamed how to do a long tail cast on and it has been a passion since the summer of 2000,” because that is often how I come to decisions, realizations, even designed a patio that had been a challenge for me and landscape designers for like 10 years.

  6. Nancy Says:

    I admit it I love to talk about myself! I suppose that’s why I have a blog. If you’re interviewing more than 1 person can I be one of them?

  7. Angi Says:

    Always the late one! But should you decide there will be more than 1, the interview meme looks like fun!

  8. Kati Says:

    This meme looks like fun. πŸ™‚ How could I get someone to interview me?

  9. Kris Says:

    Loved your interview responses. Good job.

    I, too, think of adopting a child from China. It took so long to have my daughter and, alas, I’m considered “old” in maternity years. So, a sibling for her seems unlikely at times. But I can totally picture a little girl from China being a part of our family……. we’ll see.

  10. Margene Says:

    Katy, your answers are so well thought out and inspiring to read. My sister just went into special ed and has found her calling. It is a field that needs anyone who loves it. Your idea to be an advocate would be perfect as you have had to fight for your own family. Go for it. I can’t wait for the day we meet face to face (and get a hug!!)

  11. sUsAn Says:

    (second try commenting…my computer is behaving strangely)…Enjoyed reading your interview, Katy! I’ve recently been TiVoing all the late night/early morning episodes of Northern Exposure and have been increasingly intrigued by all things Alaskan.

  12. Oril Says:

    I enjoyed reading the interview.
    I always said to my husband if we were well off than we should adopt a child that wasn’t as fortunate…


Comments are closed.