Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

of cats and books and cookies too April 25, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:41 am

First I wanted to say thank you to everyone who offered input on Scooby and his morning waking.  Before I gave any of the suggestions a try, I decided to use a bit of reverse pyschology.  We live by the principles of behavioral science in this house.  I started meowing and waking Scooby up when he was sleeping.  My friend Ann did not think this was a good idea.  She thought either it wouldn’t work or I would make matters worse with the cat.  Saturday and Sunday morning we didn’t hear a peep from Scoob until Owen woke up–around 6am or so.  This morning, Kevin was late for work!  His alarm didn’t go off and Scooby didn’t go off either.  If only Ann could see the smug look of satisfaction on my face.  And the worried, upset look on Kevin’s. 

Cookies_and_book I guess I came across Miriam’s blog via Margene’s–her being a Utah grrl and all…but she was in need of some Karabella Lace Mohair for a WIP.  It is a lovely but sadly neglected yarn at Granny’s.  So, I offered to send Miriam the last skein we had.  In return Miriam sent me a beautiful hand bound book and some delicious cookies.  They are lovely with tea.  Thanks so much Miriam and I am so happy you can finish your shawl. 

All of the kids are home today and just Cameron and Gracie the rest of the week.  Cameron will be a peer model at Owen’s school tomorrow.  And we will try to plan a few fun things for their vacation. 

 

5 Responses to “of cats and books and cookies too”

  1. Rossana Says:

    HAH HAH HAH HAH HAH! That was so funny how your experiment in reverse feline psychology worked with Scooby! Tee hee!

  2. Margene Says:

    Of course you would be right about how to quiet the cat! Too funny. I love Miriam’s books! I have been giving them as gifts and she gave me one for my b-day. It would make a great knitting journal.

  3. Chris Says:

    Oh I love it! You mean if I start getting up in the middle of the night and getting in Younger’s bed she will stop doing it to us? Doubtful, she WANTS a warm body to sleep with.

  4. ann Says:

    Just you wait my pretty —- it is only a matter of time before you are back here asking the best way to get the smell of cat pee out of the carpet …. (which by the way, is to buy a new carpet)

  5. Orli Says:

    You know Katy, you are very British? is thier a reason? I love by the way…as I consider my self to be British also. That girl at work, who studies LD education…she told me that American’s are big followers of behavioral science …after I was giving her some of my methods…with Gil…well why not. I read about it in books and it sounded really sensible to me. With regards to cats…as I from time to time have issues with mine, he has a foot fettish…well, I was told my another email friend that *human* psychology does not work on cats.


Comments are closed.