Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The mysterious…the elusive… April 29, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:18 am

Charts_for_colour_knitting_2 I am working on pulse warmers still.  They are the perfect knitting with the kids home from school.  While I have an urge to get back (finally) to St. Brigid, I just don’t have the time or attention to put into it with the kids around.  With just over 30 stitches on the needles, it is easy to work a few rows on pulsewarmers and put them down and pick them up.  It’s choosing the patterns for them that is giving me the greatest fits these days.

Lucky for me, my mom has a library to end all libraries!  I started drawing up charts yesterday for this orangey/rust pulsewarmer–after I finally settled on white beads.  My mom remembered her Charts for Colour Knitting book and I swiped borrowed it yesterday.  I have gone through several more attempts and I am just not thrilled.  Next go is the wave pattern I drew up from something I saw online.  If that doesn’t work, there is a lovely Celtic chain in the book.  The peanut gallery, aka Kevin, keeps shooting down charts.  "No waves.  It’s orange not blue."  You have to think outside the box.  Or ditch the yarn.  Or the beads.  Sigh.  Or should I just get rid of the husband?  Just kidding Kevin.

Yesterday was spent at Adventureland with Cameron, Gracie, my mom and my nephew.  Unfortunately my nephew was a tad under the height restrictions so I had to accompany him on many of the rides.  Ugh–how I hate those spinning rides.  The kids had a great time though.  And it was a good walking primer for my mom.  Next weekend is Maryland Sheep and Wool!  Adventureland hosts an autism night twice a year.  We have never gone as Owen doesn’t care for rides but I had a chat with the manager yesterday and he said the autism nights are the best.  The staff love it and the park is open to the families of children with autism.  I think we’ll give the fall one a try.

Well, I guess I better get back to figuring out this pulsewarmer. 

 

7 Responses to “The mysterious…the elusive…”

  1. Awwww…you’re such a good aunt! I don’t like those spinning rides either…doesn’t make for good knitting time…lol!

  2. Margene Says:

    My Dad had a book that I wanted. SO, I borrowed it. When he would ask for it back I would say I was still using it or I couldn’t find it. One year for my birthday he gave me a card with a GC inside that said “This certificate is for (the book whatever it was) as a gift on her birthday.” So, it’s now mine;-)

  3. Mary Beth Says:

    Hey – I was flippin through some old IK’s the other day and I thought of you because they had an article on pulsewarmers – IK Fall 2002. You are a better person than me going on rides. Ugh.

  4. Kevin from NY Says:

    you didnt marry me for my taste in yarn
    or my hair
    or feet
    or my career aspirations
    or my runny nose
    come to think of it…..why did you marry me again?
    oh yeah…cause i had the potential for silly blog comments later in lafe

  5. greta Says:

    awwwwwwww, that is SO sweet!
    I just wanted to say I cannot WAIT to hug you
    in person at MD Sheep and Wool!
    Next Week!
    wooooohooooo!

  6. michele Says:

    I love the thought of knitting pulsewarmers..I think my daughter would think they are very cool. I also keep hearing about the Maryland Sheep and Wool festival and wish I were closer to attend. Take care…

  7. Orli Says:

    do you want to swap husbands for a while 😉
    with my husband everything is fine…I am my own critique “think outside the box.”…now where did I hear that…or right, my boss…is Kevin like a manager or something? =)
    I’d love to go to a festival of that kind. Don’t have them here. Maybe one of these days when we get to visit the USA again…


Comments are closed.