Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Quit buggin’ me May 24, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:20 am

It feels like it has been a while since I posted.  Thank you for all of the birthday wishes for my mom.  Granny backed out on us but with good reason.  My mom got a ton of Manos.  I must photograph her latest throw.  It is goregous.  I feel a fight brewing with my sister over these.  I bought a bit of the discontinued Mission Falls cotton and a skein of Berroco Plush for Ugg booties.  Not too bad but I think I need to stop buying yarn for a while.  It feels like it’s at addiction status.  Maybe workout more and buy yarn less. 

Mountain_mohair_bslp I have been working on the little Green Mountain Spinnery sweater I bought at Maryland Sheep and Wool.  It is knitting up pretty quickly.  Sleeves and neck are all that is left.  Ann, Peggy and Ricki thought the color was a bit feminine so I bought some Lamb’s Pride Worsted in a more masculine color.  I still think the blue is okay but it was 3 against 1.  This will be a gift for Molly, the daughter of Kevin’s twin.  The darkness of the yarn is hiding what little cable detail there is. 

Here and there I have been working on end of the year scarves.  What can I say, I appreciate the teachers more than I hate knitting with novelty yarns.  So, I won’t bore you with those details.  Last week was Flower Picture Week or something like that.  I didn’t participate ’cause I am that kind of rebel.  Instead I say show your Flower Eating Insect Week. 

                               I_eat_pretty_flowers

 

14 Responses to “Quit buggin’ me”

  1. Vicki Says:

    Ick, ew, ick, eeeeewwwwww. I don’t miss the banana slugs in Oregon — 6″ long, green and slimy and EEEWWWWWW. Ick.

  2. Christine Says:

    A slug! ewww! Have you ever stepped on one in bare feet! Totally gross!

  3. Cara Says:

    If we’re bringing out the bugs, I’ve got lots of picture ammo!

    Would love to see some pictures of your Mom’s Manos throws! Does she blog? I’ve been thinking of making a new throw for my husband – the one I made him is too small already – yes he’s a growing boy!

  4. Rossana Says:

    EEEEEW! Gross! But to be fair, as a young child I used to poke the slugs out of the holes in bricks and then feed them to my three pet chickens: Mashed Potato, Gravy and Jelly Bean. No wonder they eventually became supper, eh? ;-p

  5. Chris Says:

    Eeuuuwwww! That must be why I stay out of the garden. Not really, it’s the dirt, can’t stand it. Love the sweater, which pattern is it?

  6. Margene Says:

    Well, you’re in a mood. Is it the weather? Wishing and hoping you have blue skies soon.

  7. Oh, but he’s so cute!

  8. Orli Says:

    LOL! we get those too…just be weary where you walk, it is tottal yikes to tred on one.
    What is wrong with a feminine for a girl? anyway I love the color.

  9. michele Says:

    I love the cabling on the sweater and I very much dislike the bug/slug picture. Actually I found a small version in our yard this weekend…yick yuck…I want to see the manos throws too!

  10. ann Says:

    you crazy rebel —- can’t wait to see what bug picture you post tomorrow!

    ps. I would like to add that the picture is not completely reflecting the true color. That yarn has a definite violet overtone.

  11. Norma Says:

    Well, there we go again. You’re the third person today that I have felt was living in a parallel universe with me. I’m laughing my ass off about the slug, because MY idea today (I somehow just missed realizing about flower week last week, not that I had much in bloom anyway, until it was over), was to suggest that we show our garden uglies/winter-killed stuff, etc. (I’m sick, I know!) I know some people would be hard-pressed to have anything to show, living where they live, but boy, we were hard-hit this year. I’ve lost several shrubs, and they’re hideous right now. What a shame.

  12. chelsea Says:

    I love it (the slug AND the sweater)!

  13. Joy Says:

    Whatta great slug! and I don’t think I’ve ever uttered those words in my life. Which Green mt. spinnery sweater are you making? I made one of the raglans with handspun and loved it.

    Joy

  14. Kris Says:

    Ick! what is that??? It looks like a snail without the little snail shell thingy.


Comments are closed.