Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Miss Spider May 25, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:14 am

Ann tells me since I declared it Flower Eating Insect Week, I must post a picture of a bug every day this week.  Well, this is a bit of a problem.  1.  I don’t post everyday.  2.  I don’t garden much.  3.  I am a horrible photographer. 

In an attempt to appease Ann, I offer you one of my favorite flower eating spiders.

                                           Miss_spider

Miss Spider’s Tea Party by David Kirk is one of my all time favorite children’s books.  I get choked up reading it.  And it is so clever with the counting mixed in there with the story.  I don’t care for the subsequent books nor do I care for the show on Nick Jr.  I was rereading it this morning looking for my favorite page to share and I just loved them all.  But I will share this one…

Ten tiny steaming cups of tea

Were perched atop her trembling knee.

She sipped and sobbed, then heard a cough

And turned to see a small wet moth –

A fragile thing so soaked by rain,

His wings to damp to fly again.

She smiled and took a checkered cloth

To cloak the frail and thankful moth.

They talked and snacked on tea and pie

Until his tiny wings were dry.

Then lifting him with gentle care

She tossed him gently in the air.

Poor misunderstood Miss Spider.  I love her.

                                                      

 

11 Responses to “Miss Spider”

  1. Cara Says:

    You’re off the hook – I got your back! (Although my spider looks like he could eat Miss Spider.)

  2. Kathy Says:

    I love Miss Spider — so kind and gentle. Plus, beautiful illustrations.

  3. Margene Says:

    Sounds like meeting a new friend, having tea and a chat and then helping the new friend on her way once again. Perfect.

  4. Margene Says:

    Sounds like meeting a new friend, having tea and a chat and then helping the new friend on her way once again. Perfect.

  5. ann Says:

    wow! I’m glad I badgered you — I didn’t know about Miss Spider. thanks for introducing me!

  6. Sharlene Says:

    We loved a couple of the Miss Spider books so I bought the “Wedding” book sight unseen through Scholastic at school. It was SO weird and odd that I never read it to the boys. Its a strange series, with some of the books quite nice and others just seem like they don’t fit. We haven’t watched the show, so I can’t comment on that, but I do like the artwork. 🙂

  7. michele Says:

    Thank you for no more real bugs…Miss Spider is a favorite of ours here too!

  8. Uli Says:

    We have a Miss Spider Christmas one and it’s growing on me, especially since we’re still reading it in May and Erika has it completely memorized now.

  9. Angi Says:

    What a wonderful book that must be. Thank you for sharing. Khi and I will lookd for it at the library.

  10. Rossana Says:

    I really like the excerpt from Miss Spider. Thanks for introducing me to this book! TGI almost F!!!

  11. sUsAn Says:

    We LOVE Miss Spider!!! Gorgeous illustrations!


Comments are closed.