Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Summer vacation begins, take 2 June 27, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:04 am

You know, you think you are in a good mood until you write a long, heartfelt and well written post that disappears when you hit save.  I had the whole house to myself with Owen off to school and the other two sleeping.  Cam’s up.  He’s showing me old teeth. 

As I was saying…we fired Owen’s teacher.  Actually Kevin did.  I fired the last one.  It stinks.  I was expecting to be all sad and stuff.  ‘Cause it’s going to be hard until we can find a new one but we got a wonderful surprise.  One of Owen’s teachers from his past is on his team for the summer.  This teacher is the one who said she had never seen a child "skyrocket" like Owen did.  Of course, he’s not skyrocketing right now but I adore her.  She is loud and boisterous with her verbal praise and the kids love her for it.  I love her for teaching me how to deal with tantrums–especially the jelly leg treatment. 

My mom reknit the collar on the Green Mountain Spinnery kid’s sweater.  I am on the second sleeve of my Lamb’s Pride one.  Collar to be worked with motherly input.  What to start next?  I recently came across Kevin’s Dale sweater–hiding behind winter coats yet to be stored.  St. Brigid needs some attention too but as we are driving down to Hilton Head on Thursday, I think some less thoughtful knitting needs to accompany me.  I was thinking of a sock.  Maybe the one I put aside a couple of months ago.  Regia cotton, I think.

Bad_closet_1 Last, I need to work on this over the summer.  Maybe an Excel spreadsheet?  This is the worst of it but there are a few other smaller storage spots.

Cashmerino Aran by Debbie Bliss any thoughts?  Good or bad for baby garments?

 

17 Responses to “Summer vacation begins, take 2”

  1. jody Says:

    have a wonderful, wonderful time, and i definitely vote for something simple like a sock for the trip.

    btw, if you need help sorting out the stash i’m your woman. and i’m seriously volunteering so just say the word!

  2. Cara Says:

    So glad things are looking up for Owen! And have a WONDERFUL vacation. Hope the weather’s good, the traffic light and the knitting easy! 🙂

    My stash is a mess as well. I was looking for something this morning and basically had to rip apart the house. Maybe I’ll organize as a way of procrastinating from all the other stuff I need to be doing.

  3. Maryann Says:

    Congrats on firing the guy, and I am so glad that Owen’s old teacher is on his team. Wahoo!! Will she be his teacher now? Maybe she can help you find a new teacher for him. Sooo…. inquiring minds want to know, how do you deal with jelly-legs???

  4. Rossana Says:

    Your stash closet looks like it contains tons of yumminess! I hope you have a safe and fun trip to Hilton Head. I’ve never been, but one of these days, would love to make a trip down there.

    As for Cashmerino Aran, I would think it would be yummy for baby knits as it has the same blend percentages as the DB Baby Cashmerino. Plus, it’s machine washable, too! Being Aran weight, the other bonus is it would be a quicker knit, too. Hee! Perfect for baby gift-knitting!

    And YAY YAY YAY for having a great teacher back on Owen’s team! That worked out well! Y’all were due for some good news. =)

  5. michele Says:

    Good for you and your husband on the teacher firing…that must be very hard and frustrating…I wish I lived closer and could help you reorganize your closet…looks like it would be great fun…I bet you find lots of fun things. Take care 🙂

  6. greta Says:

    BLESSINGS to you, darlin….
    Life on the autistic spectrum is often accompanied by that Led Zep soundtrack…
    Good Times, Bad Times….
    but I’m here to tell you it DOES get joyous
    when you find the right niche.
    Sometimes you have to fire a LOT of teachers, no matter
    how well meaning they are.
    The fit just has to be RIGHT.
    I’ll say some EXTRA prayers for you….
    xoxoxoxo

  7. Vicki Says:

    What wonderful news for Owen and such a relief for you! Truly amazing how things work out…

    It was really great to meet you on Thursday, but it wasn’t enough time! I think we’re going to have to try that again sometime, huh? Maybe in my neck of the woods…

  8. Margene Says:

    Buy bins and sort your stash…at least it will look good. Have a wonderful time! The sock will be perfect, easy knitting.

  9. Donna Says:

    Another vote for the sock 🙂 Good riddance to bad teachers and hooray for returning good ones, no matter in what capacity!

  10. Michelle Says:

    Hey Katy,

    It is so great that Owen’s old teacher popped back up. Things like that seem serendipitous. I hope everything continues to work out.

    That closet looks like quite a handful! A spreadsheet would probably help. Shame I don’t live closer–I love organizing stuff like that!

    Smiles,
    Michelle

    PS
    I did find that artist, her stuff is really neat!

  11. Maybe Red Sox?!

    😉

    Wait, so how DO you deal with the jelly-leg treatment? I am sans child but I fear the future tantrums. Behold…let us know your wisdom.

    I’ll organize the closet for you. I love to organize. 😉

  12. Kathy Says:

    So glad to read that the teacher situation is looking up 🙂 I did the stash organization this past winter, it’s all sorted, bagged and in a clear container. However, instead of an excel spreadsheet, my “inventory” is written on the back of an envelope (really!) A sock would be great — small and portable. Or else something REALLY simple – maybe a kid’s sweater or some hats (you could get a start on the holiday knitting!!) Hope you have a great vacation.

  13. sarah b. Says:

    I will likely be posting a very similar picture of my yarn storage in the next few days! I’m hoping to make a dent in it sometime this week before my mom comes to visit…she will want to look at the infamous yarn collection so it needs to be organized in such a way that she can actually see the yarn. Whether or not I’ll get to it remains to be seen! Good luck with yours!

  14. Orli Says:

    jelly leg treatment? what’s that? do tell. I wish I had a magic want for tantrums.
    I spy some gorgeous yarn in that closet.

  15. Mary Beth Says:

    Well this is the time of year for CHANGE! Sounds like you are on your way – change is good! I LOVE baby cashmerino for babies, so I think the regular cashmerino would be good too! Have a great vacation!

  16. sUsAn Says:

    Hurray for summer vacation! Glad the teacher issue was resolved and the “old” teacher sounds fab…another one here who would love to know how to deal with the “jelly leg tantrum.”

  17. Kris Says:

    I, as a knitting newbie….but also the parent of a baby….who may be closer to a toddler…think cashmerino aran would be yummy for baby stuff. And their mom will like it too as they snuggle the little one!


Comments are closed.