Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Happy 4th of July (weekend) July 2, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 6:46 pm

Well, we survived the trip.  The first day driving was easy…just about 6 hours.  I could have gone longer but we were stopping at off to see Kevin’s twin and family.  Yesterday, 9 hours–not so much fun.  But we made it and the kids are delighted to be here.  Grandpa got a golf cart and the kids are having a blast.  Owen was, of course, reluctant to go on it at first but now he is all about the pedal to the metal.  No braking allowed.  If we take our foot off the "gas" pedal he puts his there or tries to maneuver our foot off the brake.  He is too funny sometimes.

I stopped by the local yarn shop today to see what was new.  There was a bead store a few shops down too.  I just picked up one skein of the Rowan 4ply to try.  And Gracie got a few used books.  Yup, yarn shop and used books.  If they only served coffee…  Gracie found one of my all-time favorites–Daddy Long Legs.  Unfortunately the bead shop doesn’t sell 8/0s. 

As Rossana suggested, I knit a scarf on the ride down.  Woohoo!  Christmas knitting begun.  And I started a sock using Regia Cotton Surf in the BonBon colorway.  I had started them once before on a US2 but hated the fabric.  I would have liked a US1 but couldn’t find them so I brought US0.  Even with 72 stitches cast on–as my mother suggested–they seem a bit tight.  Gracie gets a new pair of socks.  And there are pulse warmers to knit.  And I printed out Rogue.   Images I am not sure I will love the color choice.  It is Kid Classic Imp which I won in the Mason Dixon Knitting Afghanalong.  I can’t tell if that is a good picture or not.  Different monitor down here and all.

Well, I hope everyone has a happy and safe 4th of July weekend.

 

11 Responses to “Happy 4th of July (weekend)”

  1. Donna Says:

    I remember Daddy long Legs! Em’s been looking for books, I might tell her to get that one.
    Enjoy the holiday 🙂

  2. Rossana Says:

    Christmas knitting already started in July–very admirable indeed! Glad to hear you all made it safely to your destination and are having a blast! Happy 4th to you and yours, too! =)

  3. michele Says:

    Oh my gosh…I totally forgot about that book (Daddy Long Legs)!!! I loved that book. Kids and golfcarts…I remember thinking it was so cool to tool around on a golf cart. Enjoy your weekend 🙂

  4. I hope you’re having fun and relaxing a bit!

  5. Happy Independence Day! Hope you and all of your family is having a wonderful time together. And Christmas knitting in July…you are too good my dear!

  6. margene Says:

    Hope the weekend was fun! Sounds like the vacation is off to a good start. Enjoy!

  7. ann Says:

    enjoy your vacation!

  8. Kim Says:

    Oh, I just love family car-trip vacations! It sounds like you guys are having a good time, despite all the car-hours. Give yourself a big hug for me, and have fun!

  9. greta Says:

    wow, I am impressed! That is a LONG car ride 😉
    My boybird loves to careen around in a golf cart, too. Thanks for the giggle! Hope your vacation is a DELIGHT!
    xoxoxo

  10. Jean Says:

    I’ve never heard of that book. What a cool combination. Yarn and used books! You’d never get me out of there!

  11. Chris Says:

    Those sweaters are darling, need to research my stash for options. Thanks for the Tweed compliment, the “modeling” shoot is set for today.


Comments are closed.