Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

What do you think? July 20, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 1:21 pm

Coming_up_too_short Alright, I have got a bit of a problem.  I finished my wavy pulsewarmers.  However, it seems I may have cast on more stitches for one than the other.  I think I did 30 and 34.  Brain freeze?  Vacation insanity?  I don’t know.  Of course I noticed this after I bound off and ran the ends.  I showed my mother this morning (we went out to breakfast with Cameron and Gracie).  She says since it is a gift–I should do it right.  And I supppose she is right.  We tried to block it a bit wider but it didn’t work completely.  When I put them on, I don’t think it is really noticeable.  That was the last skein of the color at Granny’s–I checked today.  So, it means undoing the ends and reknitting it.  What do you think?

Wavy_grrl_pulsewarmers Wavy_grrl_pulsewarmers_002

 

23 Responses to “What do you think?”

  1. Kris Says:

    While I understand your mother’s comments regarding this being a gift, I personally can’t tell which one is right and which one isn’t. They both look the exact same to me. Now…I’m a newbie when it comes to knitting so maybe a more experienced eye could pick out the error. I think they’re just fine the way they are.

  2. Nancy Says:

    It is not in the least bit noticeable. As a recipient of a pair of your lovely pulse warmers I wouldn’t appreciate it any less with the 4 less (or more) stitches.

  3. Cara Says:

    C’mon now. Tell Mom that everyone’s got one arm (or wrist) that’s bigger than the other! Are you a thrower or a picker? There you go!

    Seriously, I can’t tell the difference in the pictures where you’re wearing them. It would still bother me though. But I’m crazy like that.

  4. greta Says:

    welll….if they were for ME, they’d be perfect, because i do have one noticeably larger wrist from years of tennis…
    not (cough, cough) that I think they are for me…but
    just sayin…
    I think they are LOVELY!

  5. michele Says:

    I just wish they were mine…they are fabulous…don’t reknit them….that makes them special, besides if they were mine I would keep the looser one (if it is even noticeable) on my right hand since I write with my left…move to the next project, but I respect your mother’s advice, of course 🙂

  6. margene Says:

    The person for whom they are intended will be fine with them…I’ll bet she won’t notice. Just go with it.

  7. ann Says:

    because we all know I’m a b*tch, I will say that I think the one you are wearing on your right hand is the one with more stitches. If I am correct, I agree with your Mom and you should re-do it. If I am wrong, then you should publicly ridicule me. Who are they for? is that person a perfectionist?

  8. Norma Says:

    No way should you redo them. At that tiny gauge, how much does 4 stitches amount to …. a quarter of an inch or something? And the way they’re worn, no one will know. I know I would love them if they were for me! They’re BEAUTIFUL!

  9. becca Says:

    I think they are beautiful, and would love a pair!

    Think about the recipient of such a gift – are they going to notice? If they would notice, then redo (don’t let your mom tell them!) – if they won’t notice, but will be impressed by your talent and honored to recieve such a gift, sit back and take the compliment. If they say, well this one is a little loose, offer to re-do then.

    This seems like one of those things where if you notice and don’t make a big deal out of it, most people won’t notice either (wrong note in a concert, missed step in a recital, etc) If

  10. lillium Says:

    Now I can tell you what I think but ultimately it is going to be how YOU feel about it.

    Your gift is definitely lovely.

  11. Kathy Says:

    They look lovely — lucky recipient! I agree that four stitches is not a big deal. If it’s going to keep you up at night though . . .

  12. Catherine Says:

    Don’t hate me, but I think “Mother knows best!” You will never be 100% happy unless you do what she says. Lol. Tell Sue I said hello. Best wishes, Catherine

  13. Rebecca Says:

    No way!!! Dont do it! No one will notice…trust me!!

  14. I can’t see the difference, and I doubt the recipient will either!

  15. Joan Says:

    You probably could tell only because you felt how snug (unsnug) they were on your wrists. However, the recipient will only think their wrists are slightly different sizes. Don’t frog!

  16. Mary Beth Says:

    well I would just not ask my mom because I know I wouldn’t like what she has to say…

    what would you tell Gracie?

  17. Angi Says:

    I know you put a lot of time in them as a gift. But would you want to sell them to me? Because of the C.P. my wrists are 2 different sizes.

  18. Christine Says:

    Can’t see the difference. Looks goregeous! Lucky recipient!

  19. Sara Says:

    They’re lovely. Call it wabi-sabi and don’t re-do them 😉 There is beauty in imperfection – and those are a stunning example.

  20. Sara Skates Says:

    More perfect stuff

    These folks have made me smile – Emma posted a link to her blog, with pictures of her most very perfect son wheeling his way through an egg race Betsy shared a story of her parents and their perfect doggie…

  21. Sharon Says:

    Here’s my take on it. My right foot is bigger than my left foot. My right boob is bigger than my left boob. Stands to reason that my right wrist must be bigger than my left wrist. So if you were gifting me with those utterly delightful pulsewarmers, I’d certainly want one to be a little bigger for my right wrist.

  22. Orli Says:

    They look gorgeous to me!

  23. Maryann Says:

    Happy birthday yesterday!!


Comments are closed.