Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Remembering July 27, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:23 am

Afghan_sqaures In between other projects, I have been knitting some squares for the Afghan Project in Memory of John Glick.  When I read Kerstin’s post that day, my heart immediately went out to she and her family and I was deeply saddened for her in laws, John’s parents.  Losing a child is a tragedy no parent should face.

When we lived in Hingham, I became very friendly with my next door neighbor.  He was an older man, in his 70’s, I guess, a Weymouth guy who would help me fix broken Brio parts and squeaky swings.  Both he and his wife were widowed–separate pedestrian-vehicle accidents.  As if that wasn’t tragic enough, he lost his son and daughter-in-law in separate motorcycle accidents just miles away from one another. 

Shortly after their deaths, we received Owen’s diagnosis of autism.  Kevin and I grieved for the dreams we lost.  My neighbor and I gave each other such support.  In no way does autism compare to death but he could sense our loss. And my heart ached for his.  I miss him terribly.  I phoned him last month for the squeaky swing remedy.  He knows everything.  Whenever I visit Hingham, it involves a lengthy visit with him. 

As I do my friend, I wish Kerstin and her family continued strength and love.  In yesterday’s post she wrote, "Life.  You have to keep on living it."  No truer words were ever spoken.

 

8 Responses to “Remembering”

  1. jody Says:

    beautiful post. i love hearing stories of people helping people. it helps keep the faith that there is more good than bad in the world.

  2. margene Says:

    We are resilient and stronger than we give ourselves credit for. Life stories are always great reading. It shows just how much we learn with every experience and every ‘bad’ experience has good in it.

  3. michele Says:

    What a lovely post…thank you for sharing with with us.

  4. Norma Says:

    Yes. Yes. Yes.

    And I LOVE your striped squares.

  5. Annie Says:

    Really a touching post. It’s sad that so many older people are isolated and ignored. They are such a valuable part of our lives. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Orli Says:

    so sad. vehicle accidents are just awful.
    I live in a country where outsiders fear from terror…yet still we loose much more to accidents each year than we ever have in terror and also if you add the figures up we have lost more than we have in our wars, and avrage Israel has been in war every decade since it’s independance in 1948.
    Yes, Kerstin is right, for better for worse You have to keep on living it because as much as sometimes want to make the world from spinning, you just can’t and life just goes on. As you I lost a parant to an illness the dr’s couldn’t cure and I haven’t fully come to terms with it, nor do I think I ever will, yet still loosing a parant as hard as it is, isn’t like loosing a child, it’s as a wise uncle told us when we lost a 2nd cousin to pedestrian-vehicle accident when she was just 11 years old, he felt it was wrong, it wasn’t her turn, it’s not the way of things. Your squares look fab and it is such a cherishble thing to do.
    Which reminds me why I enjoy the www so much, because we constantly find that thier are many good and supporting people out there and you are not alone.

  7. Kathy Says:

    What a beautiful story — thank you. And how lucky to be able to continue your relationship. Your squares are lovely.

  8. Thank you for sharing Katy, and the quote is oh, so true, despite everything that life throws at us.


Comments are closed.