Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Directions July 29, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:23 am

Where should I direct this blog post?  Do you post first and title after?  Or do you come up with a title and let it flow?  Usually I write first and title after.  Sometimes there is an inkling of an idea–or direction.  I wasn’t sure what to post or what to title or how to start.  So, I went with the title first.  It’s a doozy, huh?

Vicki tagged me for a meme on idiosyncracies.  Nothing hit me right away.  When I went to bed last night, I thought about it.  I think I came up with one.  So, I IMed Kevin this morning.

katykknits: do i have any idiosyncracy’s
katykknits: idiosyncracies
kollarnyc: well
katykknits: idiosyncratic behaviors
kollarnyc: let me think
katykknits: they don’t jump out at you do the
katykknits: y
kollarnyc: not really
katykknits: me neither
kollarnyc: you have more prdictable reactions
kollarnyc: to certain situations
katykknits: huh
katykknits: it’s a blog meme…and you have to name 5

I was chatting with my dear friend Ann last night–who it seems has many idiosyncracies–and one in particular that doesn’t sit right with knit bloggers.  And she and Vicki thought I would be chock full.  You would think, huh?  I would think too.  Now, I have to think some more.

In a more knitterly direction, I am working on this little sweater.Rosario_sweater  I think this is to avoid knitting in the direction of other projects I should be working on.  Like St. Brigid or Kevin’s Dale sweater that has seen a few endless rounds.  I have also started the Lace Leaf Shawl in the lovely green yarn Margene gave me.  Started–well, if you consider my mom doing a crochet cast on for me, me knitting a row and my mom knitting a row.  Moving right along.  Anyway, this little sweater is for Kevin’s nephew/godson.  I am using Sirdar Denim Aran.  I don’t love it as much as I do other colors I have knit in this yarn and I wonder if it is the effect of the dark dye vs. light dye.  And speaking of directions…no chart.  On the one hand, I like the B and F for back and front.  On the other hand the page sometimes swims and I lose my place.  Thank goodness it is small and nearly finished. 

Then what direction?

 

10 Responses to “Directions”

  1. ann Says:

    you are just not trying hard enough! how about something to do with your incredible fussiness regarding baked goods?

  2. Orli Says:

    idiosyncracies:
    well, I’ve mentioned before i’m slightly anal retentive…so I need to have matching cloth pegs on what i’m hanging…I don’t mix my colors on the same item of clothing and certain pegs will never be used on certain cloths…like yellow pegs on black cloth, because that’s just wrong and reminds me of the hollocaust. (morbid I know) nor pink and black because it does not match.
    as for blogging, because i’m anal it’s always a title first than the blog…mind you since generally what I want to write is already published in my brain it’s possible that iv’e already “composed” the blog in my head and only when I acctualy post it I come up with the title =)

  3. Orli Says:

    the baby sweater is GORGEOUS!

  4. Cara Says:

    She said it would be tough!

    The sweater is adorable. I’m going to have to try my hand at a sweater in the round. I’ve never done one.

  5. Vicki Says:

    Adorable little sweater!

    I usually title first, or I forget to do it altogether. In the stream-of-consciousness way that I usually post, though, I sometimes lose the thread between title and body. I wonder how often people scratch their heads.

    Maybe you need to wear my most favorite sweatshirt of all time — it belonged to the girls, but it’s big enough for a grown-up. It’s got Winnie-the-Pooh with that very concentrated look on his face and says, T-H-I-N-K.

  6. michele Says:

    Love the sweater…

  7. margene Says:

    I write and title and then change it part way through my post.
    Can I add one idiosyncracy? Making your Mom do the ‘dirty’ work on your knitting;-)

  8. greta Says:

    oh that IM just cracked me up!
    What about the *I hate CHANGE* thingie 😉
    teehee

  9. Donna Says:

    I don’t do titles 🙂
    I took a day to think of my idiosyncracies, too. But when I IM’d the hubby, his response was “Is there a limit to how many you can list?” Then he spent the rest of the day IMing me with new ones, and the night saying “Theres another!!”
    Smart arse. 😉

  10. Sheila Says:

    Katy, I usually write my post and then figure out a title– sometimes it’s pretty hard! I wish I had a mom that would help me get stuff started or re-energized. You are a lucky woman!


Comments are closed.