Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

We were on a break September 13, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:54 am

Me and my blog.  Yup, like Ross and Rachael, we were on a break.  Today, however, I was shamed into posting by Ann.  The thing is…I am feeling a little apathetic toward my blog.  Perhaps a change of color and design is in order.  I don’t know. 

I have been knitting.  I just don’t feel like picking up the camera.  It could be back to school blues.  I learned a new seaming technique.  I mattress stitched the cast on and bound off sleeve edges of the second little Debbie Bliss cardigan I knit.  I will spare you a picture till I block it.  But I was really pleased with the technique I learned from Knitting Tips & Trade Secrets. 

The cat has fleas.  Construction on the downstairs (Phase 1) begins the end of the month.  We areArts_tile_1  going into the garage and gutting the kitchen.  We are planning to have an open kitchen/dining/family room.  Kitchen cabinets need to be chosen.  I love these tiles I found on eBay but at $32 a tile–I don’t think they are really in our budget.  Even sporadically throughout the rest of the tile–it’s just too expensive.  An apron or farm sink is in the budget though. 

Maybe it’s the hurricane…it just doesn’t feel right talking about redesigning our kitchen when so many have lost everything.  I was able to donate a ton of clothes the kids had outgrown last week.  I donated locally because often other charities get forgotten or neglected when something so catastrophic occurs.  I was glad to hear that our local charity was sending stuff to Katrina relief too.

 

18 Responses to “We were on a break”

  1. Cara Says:

    Glad to see you back! Don’t feel bad about your house stuff – as awful as everything is in the South (and other parts of the world) our lives still have to go on – and if that means you need to work on your house to make things better for your family – then that’s what you need to do.

    I had a great (stressful!) time redoing my kitchen and bathrooms when we moved into our apartment. I used to collect all the HG magazines – Kitches, etc. – and post-it all the things I liked. You’d be surprised what you can find that almost looks like the expensive stuff, but isn’t that expensive at all.

    Hope to hear from you again soon! (I guess Ann’s good for something every now and again! 😉 )

  2. jody Says:

    well don’t stress yourself out about the blog. with rss readers it’s not a bother for us if you post alot and then don’t. we may wonder if you’re ok, but it’s not an inconvenience. so post when you want to!

    as for the renovation — i feel for ya! it’ll be wonderful when you’re done though.

    oh the tiles — can you buy one or a few and use it as a trivet maybe?

  3. Vicki Says:

    As riveting as my posts have been of late, I probably should consider a break myself! Good for you, knowing when NOT to type. I’m always happy to see a katyknits post, though!

  4. sUsAn Says:

    I can relate to your bloggy feelings of late. I enjoyed your first day photos of the kiddos…especially Owen’s! Best wishes to them and you for a good school year!

  5. ann Says:

    as soon as I am done typing this comment I am heading over to Cara’s to give her a little what for ….. I am glad to see you posted today —- didn’t mean to shame you exactly, just lay on some peer pressure. I am gearing up for a bloggy redesign – maybe that’s what you need.

  6. Amy Says:

    love the tile! Can you use it as an focal point and then use bargan basement tile around it? Having not redone a kitchen, I’m a bit clueless about the mechanics.

    I was feeling bad for having donated tons of things before the hurricane and felt I didn’t have any leftovers to give, but maybe some of my earlier donations will get used in the gulf region, or, maybe they can help someone up in my area who is surviving their own personal hurricane. All politics is local, yes?

  7. margene Says:

    I’ve been thinking about blogging lately, too. To come up with something daily, at times, isn’t that fun. I do it because I’m stuck in front of a computer all day. I’m still reeling from the tragedy in NO but my life does go on and it is beautiful and I feel more grateful for it daily. You’ll enjoy having the extra space for your family to gather in.

  8. Nancy Says:

    Maribel shames me into blogging all the time. Isn’t that waht friends are for. Having been on a break I’m sorry to say I didn’t really notice yours!

    Blog when you feel like it, it’s more fun that way.

  9. Jackie Says:

    I completely understand how you feel! I think a lot of bloggers are on a littel break! Sometimes we just need it. I’ve been thinking about redesign, too – I wish I knew how to do it in some great way.

  10. ann Says:

    hey —- maybe you could use that tile picture in your blog redesign?

  11. Loretta Says:

    Hi Katy! – Glad to see you are posting again from a blogless reader! Love the tile! Likes Ann’s idea – use it to add color to your blog….Loretta

  12. Kerstin Says:

    Hey Katy ~ We have plain white tile for a backsplash along the counter and then just two painted fruit tiles over the stove. At first I thought it was odd (and I certainly would’ve placed them randomnly whereas they lined them up) but now I think it’s kind of funky. And I have something pretty to look at when I cook. I also like ceramic tile that is made to look like stone. It’s inexpensive but if you pick the right one, it can look remarkably like tumbled marble.

    You’d be amazed at what a blog redesign can do for your bloggin’ spirits. 😉

  13. Ingrid Says:

    Hi Katy! Just wanted to say hi and that I’m thinking of you, even if I don’t get around to reading blogs as much as I’d like. Makes me feel guilty about Brigid to come over here, though! Hopefully I’ll start it this winter… Hope that everything works out for your kids with school. Good luck!!

  14. Mary Beth Says:

    Hey – good to hear from you! It’s kind of strange after all the excitement of back-to-school settles down. Hard to find a stride. I’m feeling that way, at least. Oh well. At least we have our knitting. I must check out that book…

  15. Orli Says:

    yeah…i’m having a diffecult time getting back into things. even leaving comments is a task. computer at home isn’t that brilliant and hubby tends to hog it.
    I’m still thinking of takeing down the blog. I feel frustrated with it. I make effort to post and update it and I don’t think anyone bothers to read it. The thing is I just like blabing about things…and I have no outlet aside from the blog.

  16. Catherine Says:

    Regarding those gorgeous expensive tiles, you could buy just one and then frame it and hang it in the kitchen area.

    Catherine

  17. Don’t stress yourself out about the blog…it sounds like you have so much on your shoulders right now, and that’s the priority. Blog when you feel like it. We all get the blues/blahs…just rememeber we’re thinking of you!

    All the best, my dear!

  18. Kathy Says:

    A blog redesign is a great idea — may be blog equivalent (why is there no spell check for comments, or is there -) like cleaning out your closet. Look forward to seeing the knitting. Post when you want, we’ll all still be here 🙂


Comments are closed.