Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Booty’s got back September 27, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:55 am

Bootys_got_back Yesterday was spent visiting local shelters and calling vets.  No luck.  The phone call came this morning from a neighbor at the end of the street.  They had been away and found an orange and white cat on their deck.  They shooed him away.  Thankfully, they saw the poster and have been feeding him since yesterday. 

Gracie, unsuccessfully, looked for him this morning.  Cameron and I did a bit more and we found him.  We thought we saw him elsewhere but the neighbor said check underneath the deck.  Sure enough–he was there!  Now, his regular safety collar was off due to flea bathing but the flea collar was on and got caught around his front leg.  Poor thing was hobbled.  We coaxed him out with food.  He certainly didn’t come willingly.  Timid_toes He ate a bit and then I picked him up and drove him home.  Scooby started mewing as we neared the driveway.  He seems a little leaner and is very affectionate.  He looks okay.  Thanks for all of the kind and supportive words and suggestions!

I have knit more than enough on the scarf for my friend in Paris that I am allowed to buy yarn there.  Yippee!  I do, however, want to finish start the hot water bottle cover.  The latest FO around here is by my mom–more socks knit Waving_lace_from_mom for me.  These are the Waving Lace Socks from Interweave Knits Spring 2004.  She knit them in Wildfoote.  Black is pretty difficult to photograph but I absolutely love them.  She says this it–no more socks for me.  Do you believe her?  I don’t!  Thanks Mom!

 

20 Responses to “Booty’s got back”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Thank goodness that you found Scooby. What an ordeal, though. You all must be very relieved. Love the socks in black — so, so nice!

  2. Cara Says:

    I’m so glad you found the cat! The kids (and you) must be so relieved and happy.

    Socks look great. Since she’s not knitting for you anymore, does your mom want to make me a pair?

  3. Vicki Says:

    Yay Scoob! Gorgeous socks. When are you leaving for Paris???

  4. Karen Says:

    I’m so glad to hear that Scooby is home.
    The socks are beautiful! You did a great job photographing black yarn!

  5. margene Says:

    Are you leaving soon? Your Mom is really wonderful if she knit you black socks! Maybe she should knit more for herself;-)
    Thank goodness you found that cat!

  6. jody Says:

    oh i’m so glad he’s back! i’m sure you’re all so relieved.

    ps – let mom know i’m here to take your place as sock recipient now that you’ve gotten your fair share 😉

  7. sUsAn Says:

    So glad you found your kitty! Pretty socks! I have difficulty seeing navy blue so kudos to your mom for those black wonders! 🙂

  8. Jackie Says:

    I’m so glad you all found Scooby!! The kids must all be so happy.
    Love the socks – your mom is super!

  9. sarah b. Says:

    Yay for Scooby’s return! I’m so glad he was found and is in good shape.

  10. Donna Says:

    Welcome home, Scooby!
    And the socks are lovely, good job, Mom!

  11. Tish Says:

    Has Scooby been microchipped? Most (if not all) vets will do it during a regular office visit and it is painless, inexpensive, and is a way to identify your pet if it loses its collar/ID tags. It can also prove ownership if a pet is stolen. Glad your neighbor was observant, and that “Booty” made it home OK.

  12. Samantha Says:

    I always love a happy ending! 🙂

  13. yvette Says:

    Glad to hear Scooby got home safe and sound. When are you off to Paris?, have fun when you are away.

  14. Collette Says:

    Yeah Scooby! Home again, home again! When are you going to Paris? Joe and I are going in November and taking both of our mothers. (I’m not sure what happened to me that day but it was my idea and I asked them before I could back out. We’ll see.) I expcet a full yarn store report before I go!!! (If I can take them to Paris, the least they can do is trail around behind me through yarn stores–London too! Ooh, and Joe and I are staying in NY after–Habu, School Products…yum!)

  15. Rossana Says:

    Yay! So glad to hear Scooby is home! And your new socks are mighty fine!

  16. Kris Says:

    I’m so glad he’s home!!!! I know that’s a huge relief!

  17. Orli Says:

    I’m so glad you found Scooby. Wonderful socks!

  18. Loretta Says:

    Katy so so glad Scooby is home safe and sound. Enjoy the trip to Paris!I am glad I took a minute to check in – (I am student teaching and working and have not had time to knit a stitch let alone stay in touch!) Love the socks your Mom made – what a great knitter she is and they are in black too!! If she is looking for someone else to make socks for (I do not have a single pair of handknit socks), ask if she would keep me in mind. Enjoy yarn shopping in Paris – have a crepe for me!

  19. Kristen Says:

    it’s wonderful to hear that Scooby is back! So often the outcome is different, and I love the “recovery” stories.

    The socks look great – I had’t even considered a black pair, but I’d probably wear them as much or more then my other handknit socks.

    I hope you have a lovely time in Paris!

  20. marti Says:

    i am glad that your cat found it’s way home again, what a relief. i agree about photographing black, i am knitting some black socks right now and it is going to be a challenge taking pictures!


Comments are closed.