Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

October 17, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 12:40 pm

What a crazy week it has been!  The rain seemed like it would never quit and many basements were flooded on our street.  Fortunate for us, we had french drains put in two years ago.  So much damage but a mere inconvenience compared to the south. 

My friend from high school’s wedding was on Saturday.  My sister threw a glaze in my hair on Thursday–insisting I must not show any grays.  And I went in for a cut on Saturday morning.  Liz surprised me with a slot with the makeup lady.  Here’s me all dolled up.Katy_wedding  That’s right before I got pulled over for doing an illegal u-turn.  There was an accident and I had to get back to work.  The cop that pulled me over asked me where I was going in such a hurry.  I said work.  She wanted to know where and laughed when I said Granny’s Yarn Shoppe. 

Kevin and I found a dress at 9:25pm, Thursday night.  We were desperate to find a register that wasn’t closed.  Oh my gosh–a faux Persian Lamb jacket and gauzy skirt with scattered sequins.  I loved it.  Persian lamb.  Love it!  Kevin, doll that he is, bought me some shoes Friday night.  I love them too.  I would never choose such a pointy toed shoe but they were cute and surprisingly comfortable.  We had a great time.  Most of my friends have finally caught up on the whole marriage/family thing.  I am still ahead though.

Paris

As I said, I forgot my camera.  What a dork.  There was McD’s chicken nuggets involved and a very bad kitty cat.  I took a few photos with my camera phone but was conserving battery to find the limo driver Sunday night.  My friend had to work quite a bit and I was left on my own to explore.  Kris, The Knitting Wannabe, had recommended a book called Memorable Walks in Paris.  I actually used this quite a bit. 

I had a fabulous walk in Pere-Lachaise.  This amazing cemetery is right down the street from my friends apartment but we had never been there.  I spent several hours there–despite my Jim_morrison dyslexia–trying to find the many famous graves.  For all of his popularity, Jim Morrison was very hard to find.  The grave of Oscar Wilde was covered with lipstick kiss marks that they were cleaning off.  And for Rachael, I Proust_for_rachael photographed this.  Marcel Proust.

Other places visited included a day trip to Chantilly with my friends partner.  His English isn’t so great and my french is worse.  It was quite fun–especially with the dog–a loveable Golden Retriever.  I also visited Sainte-Chappelle.  The windows were absolutely stunning–depicting the stories of the bible.  To imagine and comprehend this was built in the 13 century is just so overwhelming.Saintchapelle It is a shame that I didn’t have a better camera.  After that, I explored the city a bit more doing a bit of shopping and some fantastic hot chocolate at Angelina’s.  While it is more fun with a friend–I didn’t have to share!

Yarn purchase photo to come.  And my latest Better Pal package!  She’s got my color choices down!  Thanks BP!

