Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Knitting content first October 20, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:27 am

Thanks_better_pal Thanks Better Pal!  Look at this fabulous Drops Alpaca yarn!  Those colors are so me.  And the soup looks delicious too.  With all the construction stuff going on–I need easy dinner solutions.  Thank you.

Next up, the yarn I purchased in Paris.  Did I mention that my friends assumed I wouldn’t want to buy yarn while I was there because I work in a yarn shop!  Can you imagine?  La Droguerie is visually overwhelming but so much fun.  I didn’t have a real purchase in mind so I let myself be inspired.  This time I was inspired by the tweed.La_droguerie_weasely  I purchased a navy and a bit of orange tweed for a planned Weasley sweater for Cameron.  I am not joining the KAL because I can be trusted to finish.  Let alone start.  I have such St. Brigid guilt!

Koigu_socks_from_mema I didn’t get a chance to post a picture of these socks my mom knit for Gracie before I left.  She used Koigu from the stash that overfloweth and the Lacy Scallops sock pattern from Sock Bug.  The color is a bit funky but Gracie loves them.  And Koigu socks are just so comfy.

Now, the non-knitting content…yesterday we had a meeting for Owen to discuss the services he didn’t receive over the summer.  The chairperson didn’t feel we would have a great case if we went to due process as we had fired Owen’s teacher (due to borderline abuse).  But the district conceded to more services  over the course of this school year, basing services on Owen’s school calendar and not the districts.  It probably balances out.

What was also discussed was why Owen regressed so much over the summer.  The chairperson was surprised to hear that Owen was not likely to come back to district next year.  Most children in the program do return to district–fully integrated.  He was wondering why I didn’t tell him Owen was struggling with his autism in the moments we have had in between the meetings I sit for.  I have always felt that I am there for the district and the other students–not to discuss my children.  I have, of course, on occasion talked about the children.  But what can I say?

                                                                            Owen_as_sully

 

11 Responses to “Knitting content first”

  1. Michelle Says:

    That is the greatest picture, I just want to give him a big hug!

    So glad your trip was so wonderful!

  2. Cara Says:

    Monsters Inc. right? Oh my god he’s so cute! Happy Halloween!

  3. Kathy Says:

    What an adorable Sully! And Gracie is one lucky girl with those cute socks.

  4. margene Says:

    What a great smile! Hope things improve with the school. Your mom’s sock rock! I enoyed a couple of ‘chats’ with her while you were away.

  5. Norma Says:

    What an adorable kid. Damn those struggles. If it’s not one thing, it’s another, huh? I wish I had a remedy for all that crap, m’dear. But alas, I don’t.

    Scrumptious gifts from your better pal. Is the construction driving you totally batty yet?

  6. Jackie Says:

    I LOVE the big smile!!!! I am glad to read that you were able to get some more services for Owen – no matter how small, right?

    Your mom’s socks are always so great!

  7. That has to be the cutest costume ever…and one cute kid in it too!

    Glad to hear that you had a great time in Paris and you look lovely with your new “wedding” do!

  8. Angi Says:

    What a great costume! I hope life gets easier for Owen. Gracie is one lucky young lady with a mom and grand mother who knit. Does she knit too?

  9. Orli Says:

    I’m going to send my SIL that sock pattern, looks likes something she would enjoy making. Your’s mom is such an awesome knitter. Sully – What a smile!!! should get lot’s of treats for that =)
    How’s he taking to all the construction?

  10. That is one damn cute kid!

  11. Jean Says:

    Cutest monster I’ve ever seen!


Comments are closed.