Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A quickie November 29, 2005

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 12:22 pm

I wanted to say I am sorry for not responding to emails and comments.  While I know it is not necessary–I prefer to do so.  I used to not let my Inbox get past 50.  Then it was 100 and now it is over 200.  I am half-tempted to delete and start over again.  But I just had to put it out there.  Life is so crazy right now!  The appliances are all here but we still don’t have electric.  Why the contractor thinks it is the last thing to be done?  I don’t know!  I am tired of the toaster oven and the microwave and eating out. 

We survived Thanksgiving.  Actually, it went better than expected.  The kids were pretty content–even Owen.  He only stripped twice–both kind of appropriate–down to his undies in Grandma’s guest bed and fully naked in the shower.  He also took a sip of Grandpa’s gin and tonic.  Definitely not water.  This is the first time one of my kids accidentally took a drink.  Owen then proceeded to lick the perimeter of Grandma’s parson chair.  Anything to get rid of the taste!

Holey_sock Cameron managed to make a humongous hole in his sock!  I have no clue what happened and don’t even know if it can be repaired.  Any thoughts?  It was Trekking yarn.  Impressive, huh?

In other knitting, I completed on hat for Knit Unto Others and I am hoping toKu2o  make some mittens tonight.  I also finished a scarf for the shop knit with Skacel Prisma mohair based on the Misty Garden scarf from Scarf Style.  And I hope to finish a Transition’s Hat.  The painter is here today prepping.  And I am awaiting Silestone to come and measure again.  Third time’s a charm–right? 

 

12 Responses to “A quickie”

  1. jody Says:

    ohmygosh that’s quite a hole in cameron’s sock! is it in the heel?

    as for the replying and stuff…don’t sweat it! we all have periods of bloglessness 😉

  2. Norma Says:

    If it were me, I’d just knit another sock and not bother repairing that one. It looks like a pretty big hole!

    Don’t sweat answering emails. Some days they just can’t be gotten to.

    At least Owen didn’t LIKE the taste. That could have been worse!

  3. Nancy J Says:

    With all your remodeling and holidays and family stuff, it’s OK if you don’t respond to everything. I post to your blog so you know I’m checking in and reading it! Your posting is not in vain! On the sock — really looks like it should become something else (like a cat toy) and a new one knit in its place (or a new pair or so!)

  4. Anita Says:

    What an impressive hole! I’m in awe at the sheer size of it. That boy deserves another sock…with reinforcement built in! Perhaps an afterthought heel for the next one–ease of repair and all…

    Hang in there with the remodel!

  5. Carole Says:

    Thanks for the hat for Knit Unto Others! That’s great of you to do, especially when your life is such chaos right now.

  6. Christy Says:

    I’m in shock and awe of the sock hole. He plays hard!

  7. ann Says:

    appropriate stripping – the only way to go! 😉

  8. Rossana Says:

    Oh wow–that’s some hole in that sock! I agree–would Scooby like a toy made out of it? Or could you patch it?

    Sounds like the Thanksgiving holiday was fun! Yay!

  9. Orli Says:

    Thanks for putting it out there, now I can tell my inferior side to get in check with my alter ego…it’s not about me after all 😉 I know what you mean about the mail box, I’ve been there…though not recently
    I really like the stripy wavy scarf, which pattern did you use?
    As for the sock…it’s a really nice sock…my guess the yarn wore out…as for fixing it, only if it’s worth the time, depending on how fast Cameron grows.

  10. SusanneS Says:

    I would be checking the shoes of that young man, something is rubbing or wearing on that spot. Looks like reinforcement yarn time or another sock knit with it. mmmm, not sure what I would do…~~

  11. Samantha Says:

    I’m glad your Thanksgiving went well. 🙂 Yay! Hopefully you’ll get your electric hooked up soon. The hole in that sock looks painful!! *lol* I don’t know how it might be salvaged. Sorry!

  12. Lorette Says:

    I have inbox guilt as well. I need to deal with mine today.
    That is one impressive sock hole. I’ve tried darning socks and am just no good at it. I’d probably make one attempt at it, then make a cat toy out of it.


Comments are closed.