Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

How close do you cut it? January 4, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:41 pm

Db_bow_tied_boleros I have been working on these Debbie Bliss Bow-Tied Bolero’s for–at least what feels like–a long time.  The lovely lilac color is for the shop and the pink  is for Kevin’s co-worker.  I am, afterall, his knitting ho!  Just kidding. 

I think tomorrow is blocking day for the lilac.  Pink needs another front and edging.  While I didn’t especially love this Special Knits book–I am near finishing my 4th project from the book.  Sadly, the Ribbed Jacket from August has yet to be gifted.  In my defense, the friends moved and we didn’t get a new address till Christmas.  The second ribbed jacket will be blocked tomorrow.  Such a slacker. 

Back to the book…I bought it to knit the Shawl blanket for Cameron’s first grade teacher (a bit of bribery).  So, it must be a decent book–I am definately getting my money’s worth out of it.  I had gotten Junior Knits at the same time and have no use for that book.  I have to remember to take a picture of the finished Lace Trimmed Bolero in Cathay that I knit for the shop and was finished by Ann (Granny’s friend).  It is really cute.

Well, it seems I have rambled long enough and gotten quite far from my original question.  How close do you cut it?  I was running pretty short on the ball for one sleeve.  I was knitting both sleeves at the same time and was left with just about 20 inches of yarn–better than I thought.  One woman who frequents the shop leaves enough long ends to knit sweaters for a small country!  I, on the other hand, push my luck to the limits with the yarn.  Frugality?  Stupidity?  I don’t know.  I was lucky this time.  Plenty of yarn to seam. 

I will end with a photo from the Holiday Train Show at the Botanical Gardens.  Nancy and I agree, there didn’t seem to be as many trains as previous years…what gives?

Holiday_train_show_newyear06

 

8 Responses to “How close do you cut it?”

  1. Orli Says:

    Oysh, I’m hitting enter to damn fast. I have Debbie Bliss quick knit books…I have made quite a few of the patterns but i’m not overly happy with it, thier is nothing quick knit about it and I generally need to subsitute the yarn because though lovely, it’s to expensive for my pocket most of time and for a baby I can’t really justify it…they dont wear thier cloth that long and they are likely to spit up.

  2. Nancy Says:

    Thanks for agreeing I was afraid it was just me but I’m sure there was a little NYC Subway train in past years that was not there this year.

    I tend to forget to leave ends for seaming but my finishing skills are far from perfect anyway.

    As for being Kevin’s “knitting ho”, Rinaldo refers to me as his own personal sweatshop!

  3. Deb Says:

    Totally agree with you about “Junior Knits”- Bought it, thinking it would fill the gap between little kids and adult sizes- can’t say I will ever knit anything out of it!!!!

  4. ann Says:

    as you know, I don’t like to live on the knitting edge and only feel comfortable if I have a leftover skein!

  5. Samantha Says:

    I love the borellos. They are very nice. The lilac one is my favourite. How close do I cut it? Hmmm. If I know I’m going to have to seam I leave a longer tail so I don’t have to re-attatch another piece of yarn, but if I don’t have to seam I leave 6-8″ so I have plenty to weave in. Tell me, please, what is it about the Junior Knits you didn’t like. It’s on my wishlist, because I’m looking for a book for ages 3 and up … hmmm. Thanks!
    Happy Knitting!!

  6. Mary Beth Says:

    Maybe the itty bitty train workers are on strike?

  7. Vicki Says:

    OMG, Mary Beth cracks me up. Now I forgot what I was going to say.

    Cute boleros!

  8. How close do you cut it? There’s always those terrifying moments when you’re almost done a project and you watch your last skein get smaller and smaller and smaller. You start holding your breath, but isn’t it a good feeling when you’re done, and there’s only a little bit left. Makes me feel brilliant that I bought the right amount of yarn and didn’t waste a thing (of course, it’s all just luck, but who cares). I usually leave my ends long enough to seam with, or just enough to weave in.
    Very cute boleros by the way!


Comments are closed.