Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Short and stumpy February 20, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 11:06 am

That was my sock!  No fears, I just ripped the toe.  Most directions suggest starting the decreases 1.5" from your longest toe.  So that is what I did.  My foot would have been hobbled!  Admittedly, I am a size 9.  I started as a size 8 and 3 kids later, I am a shoe size bigger.  But 1.5" is 1.5"-unless your gauge is off.  Which could be…I knit the socks on a circular and switched to dpns for the toe.  Surprisingly, the dpns weren’t as awful as I remembered.  Did you read that mom?  She hates my use of circular needles for socks and sleeves!  Such the purist. 

Geesh, what a mish mosh of sentences!  Can you tell the kids have off from school?  Gracie will be dropped off in CT tomorrow–halfway to Hingham, MA–to spend a few days with her best friend.  Cam and I may take Scooby to the vet this week for his yearly.  And Owen has school.  I am excited to have time with just Cam.  As the middle child, he is often overlooked. 

Birthday_and_stuff_041 Pictureless but for the cat who woke us up at 4am.  When we wouldn’t come out and feed him–he tried at Cameron and Owen’s door and Gracie’s too.  Such a dork!

Freaking kids have me so distracted that I meant to ponder the old toe bone–if I had one–for sure I would know where and when to decrease!

 

9 Responses to “Short and stumpy”

  1. Carole Says:

    My feet grew 1/2 size when I had Hannah. Isn’t it the oddest thing?

  2. marti Says:

    your kitty has that same maniacle look that mine gets sometimes! arent’ they silly critters? enjoy your time with the middle child, what a wonderful opportunity.

  3. Vicki Says:

    My feet grew with kids, too. And my hair got darker with each one. Now it’s getting “lighter,” but that’s a different story. : )

    I hope you and Cam find something fun to do together.

  4. Orli Says:

    Scooby looks so darn cute I wonder if he is as much trouble as our wackie Kieko.
    When I was pg with Gil my feet got bigger by 2 size but that was due to water retention near the end of the pg. they shrunk back to thier regular size a couple of month after delivery. I do have a “bone” sticking out on one of my feet, it likes to tell me the weather. 😉 Cam will cherish your special day. I was a middle child for 7 years until #4 arrived and I got to share the spot with #3…but at least I was the only girl which earned me fun days out with mummy.

  5. Orli Says:

    side note. These days Israel had LOADS of shopping malls, back in 1983, this wasn’t the case. When my youngest brother was just a baby Dizengof Center in Tel Aviv had opened. My mom told me we would have a girls day out there on my Hanukkah vacation…I remember that day to this day. It was a very special day for me and I got my first Barbie. I was 10.6 years old.

  6. Kim Says:

    Size 10 here, Katy—I’m feeling for you! One and a half inches is one and a half inches indeed. I have trouble wearing the ol’ square toe socks, anyway. And I hate to admit it, but I’m with your mom on the DPNs. 😉

  7. Lillium Says:

    Size 9.5 here (ten depending on how the show or sock fits) Every time I knit a sock I think I’m making it way too long – I mean it seems to go on forever – just to find out I normaly have a few more inches to go yet. Kind of like knitting for me or hubby with sleeves – we both have long arms.

  8. toni Says:

    Yikes, now you’ve got me worried. The sock pattern I’m using says to start the toe about 2 inches from the end. Now I’m wondering if that will make the sock too long. Not that it really matters since I have yet to figure out what size are the receipient’s feet. Of course, if I were to cave to my inner selfish child, I would start the toe right now because then the socks should fit me! 🙂

  9. Sharon Says:

    Just got caught up on your last several entries, Katy, and wanted to comment about what is “too much” to put on a knitting blog. I like to think that this community of knitters online is a lot like getting together frequently to sit and knit. At our weekly knit-ins here, often the chatter is quite general, but it also veers to the very personal at times too. When that happens, the support system kicks in. There have to be places where it’s safe to let down occasionally, and for the most part, our blogs do seem to serve that purpose nicely. Along with that, let me add that when I needed counseling, it felt like a wonderful luxury to have someone who would really listen to me, and who posed the questions that helped me get myself back into balance…as opposed to well-meaning family and friends who often just want to fix the problem. So I would say right on to the counseling.


Comments are closed.