Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog? What blog? March 29, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 8:16 am

Yours, mine…and everyone else!  Life has been a whirlwind of change.  I can’t get over how quickly things are moving and changing here.  While a modular addition sounded so good at the time–and it is–it hardly gives one any time to get used to the changes. 

Ecd_007_1Monday…the dumpster and port-o-potty arrived.

Tuesday…Nancy arrived and they removed the entire second story–except the hardwood floors.  Nancy was a welcome change and we had a lovely time at Town Hall getting the permit, stopping by Granny’s and lunching with Ann.Ecddropday_024

Ecddropday_043 Wednesday…prepwork for the arrival of the house….and Thursday is a bit of a blur. 

Friday…the workers arrived as early as 5:30am.  Quiet work.  And the crane pulled up around 7:00ish.  Ecddropday_057 The first half of the house arrived right behind it.  The roof came flat–on hinges that they opened and locked.  Very cool.  I could see–immediately–that the vanities and tops were the wrong color.  That mistake will be fixed.  Ecddropday_075 The second half was dropped shortly thereafter.  Ecddropday_102 And the gables are picked up and pieced together.Ecddropday_128

Quite a bit of siding has gone up and the portico is on.  I will try to get another entry in one of these days.  I absolutely love the siding!  Yellow! 

 

24 Responses to “Blog? What blog?”

  1. Chris Says:

    Oh my! It’s awesome. I bet you can’t wait for it to be over and life returns to normal, whatever that is. Congrats!

  2. Carole Says:

    That’s amazing! I can’t wait to see more photos. And yellow is my favorite color for a house!

  3. Cara Says:

    Oh my god! Did the kids get to watch? That is SO COOL!

  4. Jan Says:

    How exciting! (The kids must have loved it.) What a difference this will make for your family…can’t wait to see more photos.

  5. Norma Says:

    Isn’t it just FABULOUS?!

  6. Vicki Says:

    Holy cow, Katy! That’s just incredible — so gorgeous, too, even in a rough state. What an amazing change — are the kids a little freaked (I think I’d be a little freaked!!). It’s like your very own Extreme Makeover Home Edition, but without Ty. ; ) It’ll be fun to see more progress photos. Wow, I hope it’s a little bit of fun for you, too.

  7. Nancy Says:

    Thursday must be a blur since that’s when I came over;) I should have stayed for the show on Friday though, how amazing it all is. I think it’s going to look great once that beautiful yellow siding goes up.

  8. margene Says:

    That is one big change! How cool to see it ‘in action’. Do you wonder when you drive up what happened to your house? What a cool idea for an addition!

  9. Kris Says:

    That is so cool. I can’t wait for my husband to see this entry. He’s always talking about modular units, panelized housing, blah blah blah (insert mental picture of my eyes glazing over). But now I get it. Very, very cool.

    One question. Did your neighbors watch all this happening and if so, what did they say? I’ll bet you’re the talk of the town right now.

    Thanks for posting the photos.

    P.S. Love, love, love yellow houses!!!! Great color choice.

  10. toni Says:

    That is so weird! It’s like having elves working overnight and you wake up with a few extra stories!

  11. Katy Says:

    Wow. Just–wow.
    I can’t wait to see the final pics!

  12. Maryann Says:

    Neat!! How’s Owen handling it?

  13. greta Says:

    wow!
    Joey would have been in seventh heaven with all that
    crane action! HUGS to you, dear…
    xoxoxo

  14. Caryn Says:

    Whoah! That’s an addition!! Beautiful! Can’t wait to see more pics!

  15. Lorette Says:

    Wow! I had no idea that “they” could do stuff like that! That is just incredible!
    Are you living in the house while all this is going on??

  16. sUsAn Says:

    How cool! Thanks for sharing the photos! I’ve never seen anything like that. I love yellow! Can’t wait to see more! Hang in there with all this going on!

  17. ann Says:

    Holy Cow!!! I can’t believe how they do this!! can’t wait to see it!!

  18. Samantha Says:

    Holy moley!! That looks quick! And really neat!! WOW!! I can’t wait to see the finished product. 🙂

  19. lillium Says:

    That is so cool – thanks for the pics. I’ve missed reading your posts BUT I know that you are busy busy busy. Thanks again for updating us – no other pics from Costa Rica?

  20. sarah b. Says:

    Wow, how cool!

  21. That is super cool! A big welcome to the new portion of the house!

  22. Orli Says:

    One word: WOW! That looks so easy. I stress “looks”. Congrats!

  23. lynette Says:

    wow! is that how it’s done? i’ve been seriously thinking of adding a second story to my home.

  24. Mary Beth Says:

    Incredible – what fun to see the photos! Congrats on your new home!


Comments are closed.