Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

This and that April 18, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 9:12 am

Where does the time go?  Everyone has gone back to school today–all the kids have been home since Wednesday.  It was an enjoyable break.  Everyone got along pretty nicely.  Owen only threw up the once.  Life was good.  Lots of  bike riding. 

Hardwood floors have been ordered.  Thank you Lowe’s for the best price and nicest customer service.  Painting has commenced.  Ugh.  I don’t know where to start.  I let Kevin have the final Painting_disasters_with_knitting_003_2 say on colors.  Yucky!!  I admit, it looked nice on Benjamin Moore’s Personal Color Viewer but an orange ceiling can never be good.   Kevin chose a much darker and richer orange but the guy at the paint store refused to sell it to me.  So I toned it down.  And the painter toned it way down to white. We also let kids choose their own colors.  Gracie chose a lovely blue–Spring Rain.  Owen was not particularly cooperative in the choosing of colors.  So Kevin chose for him.  And Cam.  Oh Cam.  Cam went right to the top of the paint chip and picked the darkest green he could find.   Clover Green.  What the heck was I thinking?? 

Moms_diamond_fantasy_shawl_w_claudias My mom finished her Diamond Fantasy Shawl in Claudia’s Handpainted fingering that she got at Granny’s.  We blocked it on Easter.  She insists I must knit one as the pattern is so easily memorized.  But I am currently working on a baby blanket for Kevin’s newly  born nephew.  I am basing it on Debbie Baby_blanket_for_john_saucy_1 Abrahams 100 Afghan Squares to Knit.  Obviously, $418 for Rowan’s Denim is not going to work so I am using Saucy.  Oooh…I forgot how much my hands dislike cotton.  But it is looking cute.

Last, my mom suggested I share her hideous potholders.  I should save them for another day.  Blog fodder and all… but here they are!  Kindly gifted to her by Mary Walker Phillips.  Knit with Crystal Palace’s discontinued Big Georgia, well used and over 12 years old!

                                                                          Potholders_from_mary_walker_philips

 

16 Responses to “This and that”

  1. Tish Says:

    I love that afghan pattern too! Maybe one day I’ll bite the bullet and order the denim yarn from Elann (so the afghan is only a little over $100 to knit!). Of course, I also want to knit a denim Aran sweater….We moved into a new (5yrs old- new to us)house this summer and all the rooms are “designer white”. We’ve been debating over what color (or if- my husband likes white) to paint. It’s a bit of a dilemma since all of the rooms on the first floor are open to the others (the only doors downstairs are on the bathroom and laundry room), and even the finished basement entry and upstairs gallery hallway are visible from the first floor. I’ve been collecting paint sample cards on every trip to Lowes and Home Depot. I guess the next step is the little sample cans and putting paint swatches on the walls to see how they look. (My husband will LOVE that!) 🙂

  2. Cara Says:

    Your mom’s DFS is beautiful!!! You should definitely make it – it’s a great pattern.

    My house is boring white. Although I’d love some color someday. Maybe if I ever move. Good luck! You’re almost finished!

  3. Carole Says:

    I like the orange. So, did you keep it?

  4. margene Says:

    Heirloom pot holders. That is so cool! Ceilings are best in white as the color of the walls reflects anyway and it will keep the room from feeling like a cave. That’s what my decorator said;-)
    DFS is beautiful…is it yours? Than you won’t have to make one. It was a fun project to knit, however. The blanket is going to be an heirloom, too. (You can always paint the kids rooms when they leave) My room was pepto pink;-)

  5. Anita Says:

    When we were building our house, my parents let us choose our room colors. My sister and I each chose Antique White. My brothers chose this salmon color. When we put it on the walls, it was VERY PINK. They were VERY CONCERNED. It dried more tannish salmon-y, but I still chuckle every time I step into that room.

  6. ann Says:

    can’t wait to see that orange room. are we still on for Thursday?

  7. Caryn Says:

    Hey! I was thinking about making that exact same afghan! I was going to collect the Rowan Denim as I went along, but I am also considering Elann’s Den-m-knit…they only problem is that they don’t have that really dark indigo, which I love. Maybe I’ll just get the Rowan in the dark indigo, and the Den-m-Knit for the ecru and med-blue…hmmmm. Decisions, decisions.

  8. michele Says:

    Isn’t it amazing how color can transform a room? I love seeing things come together at your place. The blanket is going to be lovely!

  9. Kris Says:

    I’m so lovin’ these house progress shots. Can ya tell I’m having withdrawl symptoms from lack of house restoration projects?

    A friend of mine let her kids pick their room colors. Her son is a huge… HUGE…. Buzz Lightyear fan. He chose dark purple and neon green. She about fainted when it was done.

    I’ll tell you what I’ve repeatedly told her. When its all said and done remember this: Its just paint. Nothing structural. Just paint.

    Thanks for posting all the house progress shots. I’m having so much fun living vicariosly through you!

  10. Carol Says:

    What does one hint of color?? Oh girl, you hint. I love it. I also colorized my space but found I needed to make the ceilings white to enlarge the room and really appreciate the color. The rooms really opened up. That is great you let your children pick their colors. I did that as well. One is sky blue with clouds on the ceiling (that’s where the white really helped because she didn’t like it at first) and the older daughter picked an interesting green but hand-painted sunflower stalks (oy vey). AND I am not that talented. Big dreams accomplished.

  11. Samantha Says:

    I love the orange. I’m a big fan of bright colours and happy spaces though … then again I like dark colours and cozy spaces too. LOL

    The knits look good. 🙂 I let my Owen pick his room colour too. He chose a dark green as well. It’s a colour I would have chosen too though. It’s gorgeous. Lily is too young to pick a colour for herself, so her room will be done in a light pink.

  12. patty bolgiano Says:

    The house we bought last august has lots of orange in it. I have two shades of orange in my kitchen, and one in my yarnroom/office. Believe it or not it works. We had a family over about two weeks ago (animal rescue–we got a collie mix) and the little girl loved the fact that we had two orange rooms. She thought that was great! The funny thing about the house, and why we chose it was because it required no repairs and the colors the family chose were stunning. I finally got my colored house!

    Patty

  13. Linda Says:

    If Kevin will let you repaint in a couple of years roll with the punches. If you have to live with it longer than that put your cute little foot down and stop the insanity while you still can. Trust me 🙂

  14. Sharon Says:

    I have friends with a gorgeous home…very open floor plan, huge cathedral ceilings. The walls are all a deep burnt orange. It is stunning…and very relaxing to be in. Everything will fall into place and yours will be wonderful too. And if it’s not…you’ll repaint. Kind of like frogging. 🙂

  15. Orli Says:

    LOL. Pot holders aint that bad…what an awesome Shawl, your mom is so talented.

  16. John Phillips Says:

    Glad you are using the pot holders. How did you acquire them? MWP is my aunt.


Comments are closed.