Katyknits

Just another WordPress.com weblog

It’s been a while… May 26, 2006

Filed under: Uncategorized — katy @ 11:10 am

Wood_floors_for_kev_and_katy_1 Life has been crazy.  The hardwood floors were finally installed.  However, not enough wood was ordered.  Argh.  Lowes is driving me nuts.  We left Gracie’s room to be finished last.  She is comfy enough on the floor.  Kevin and I still haven’t moved in.  Those windows are very expensive to cover.  So I remain happy in my old and cramped DARK bedroom. 

Cameron is over the moon in his room.  Literally and figuratively!Cams_room  We bought the bunkbeds for he and Owen when we lived in MA but had to

un-bunk do to ceiling height restrictions and autism.  Obviously, we need a new mattress for guests!  We also got Cam his very own Japanese fish.  He has been asking for one for ages!  The desk was a fabulous find at the Pottery Barn outlet.  It was called Cameron and we couldn’t leave without it.

Owens_tent_bed We were very worried that Owen would not want to be in his own room.  In the basement, when put to bed, Owen would often come back upstairs and say "Cam" or "I want Cam" or "Cam–good night" or even "Cam–jamas".  This guy doesn’t talk much but he didn’t want to be without his mate.  Kevin set up the bed last Saturday and Owen spent the day in and out of bed and pajamas!  He hoarded all the blankets, books and videos he could find–along with a bagel and juice–and settled in.  Such a relief.

Another relief is Owen’s meeting came and went fairly easily.  He will be staying in the same program but moving buildings in July.  They did reduce his home hours over the summer but only by 20% (equals 2 hours).  I am okay with that.  They didn’t mention residential once but I also didn’t let them corner me.

Broadripple_in_elann Knitting…not much.  I need to finish the corners on the blanket.  They were presenting a bit of a challenge to me so I will have to fudge it as best I can.  I wanted to start a sock in the lovely Lorna’s Laces Kris sent to me but I couldn’t find any 1’s.  I could find 3’s so a Broadripple Sock was started in stash yarn. 

 

10 Responses to “It’s been a while…”

  1. margene Says:

    The sock looks great. So do the finished rooms. The house is coming along and looks so nice. You’ll love moving into the new master bedroom when you get the window treatments.

  2. Vicki Says:

    That Owen… in and out of bed, in and out of his PJs… reminds me of something my nephew would do — with a big ol’ grin and a twinkle in his eye the whole day, too! I’m so glad that he settled in so well and it appears that he likes the new arrangement just fine!

    That new bedroom of yours sure is nice, Katy. ; )

  3. Maryann Says:

    Oh I am so glad Owen likes his new room! I’m glad the meeting went well too. We are going to separate Eva and Charlie soon (they are sharing a room right now). I want to put her in the middle bedroom (which is currently the office) because it’s bigger and has a bigger closet, but, no, she wants to stay in the bedroom she’s in now. Sigh. Hopefully I can bring her over to my side, though it’s not that big of a deal. I got a 4 foot wide chalkboard at a thrift store and I might bribe her with that– “I’m gonna put the chalk board in the middle room, if you want it, you have to be in that room!.” We’ll have to see if it works 😉

    Take care!

  4. Maryann Says:

    Oh! And she doesn’t want the pretty dresser with a flower stencil that my grandmother bought for her when she was born (I’ve been using it)… She wants a CareBears dresser! sigh…

  5. Mary Beth Says:

    All sounds good Katie – glad the meetings went fine. The house looks fabulous – all shiney and new. Enjoy the long weekend!

  6. Donna Says:

    It’s all looking so good, Katy. I’m glad the kids are enjoying their rooms – but I hope you get to enjoy yours soon too!

  7. michele Says:

    I just love that yellow/gold room! It’s fun to see the progress. I love seeing the sock on the floor near the bed. Your socks are lovely and the green is perfect. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Orli Says:

    Looks and sounds Fab! Sounds like Owen is really enjoying his little castle or fortrest havn’t done to much knitting either. Love the bank bed in Cams room. We might have to go that way if we can’t move to a bigger place, though I’m always worried about banks. Love the sock your making.

  9. Stephanie Says:

    Hi Katy! It was so nice to meet you and Granny this weekend. You definitely have a new regular! I understand about all the house stuff…we bought a foreclosure about 5 years ago and just this year have finished most of the major stuff, but as you know it never really ends. Sorry to hear about your stresses about Owen, hope things work out…saw the pictures they are all beautiful kids! I’ll be back!

  10. Samantha Says:

    Hooray for Owen! I’m so happy that he has taken to his new bed. That’s wonderful. A relief it must be for you too. 🙂


Comments are closed.